New to the Collection

Title Midnight sun

Sat, 02/13/2016 - 7:14am
Author Nesbø, Jo, 1960-
Edition: First large print edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary Blood on Snow Jon is on the run. He has betrayed Oslo's biggest crime lord: The Fisherman. Fleeing to an isolated corner of Norway, to a mountain town so far north that the sun never sets, Jon hopes to find sanctuary amongst a local religious sect. Hiding out in a shepherd's cabin in the wilderness, all that stands between him and his fate are Lea, a bereaved mother, and her son, Knut. But while Lea provides him with a rifle and Knut brings essential supplies, the midnight sun is slowly driving Jon to insanity. And then he discovers that The Fisherman's men are getting closer...

Title KILLER REUNION

Sat, 02/13/2016 - 7:14am
Author McKevett, G. A.
Format: Books

Title The rope : a novel

Sat, 02/13/2016 - 7:14am
Author Makiya, Kanan.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary "From the best-selling author of Republic of Fear, a gritty, unflinching, haunting novel about Iraqi failure in the wake of the 2003 American war. Told from the perspective of a Shi'ite militiaman whose participation in the execution of Saddam Hussein changes his life in ways he could not anticipate, the novel examines the birth of sectarian politics out of a legacy of betrayal and victimhood. A nameless narrator stumbles upon a corpse on the day of the fall of Saddam Hussein. Swept up in the tumultuous politics of the American occupation, he is taken on a journey that concludes with the discovery of what happened to his father who disappeared in the tyrant's Gulag in 1991. His questions about his father, like those surrounding the mysterious corpse outside his house, were ignored by his mother, and by his uncle, in whose house he was raised. But he is older now, and a fighter in his uncle's Army of the Awaited One, which is leading an insurrection against the occupation. Clues accumulate: a letter surreptitiously delivered to his mother during his father's imprisonment; stories told by his dying grandfather. Not until the last hour before the tyrant's execution, is the narrator given the final piece of the puzzle. It comes from Saddam Hussein himself. It is a story about loyalty and betrayal; victims turned victimizers; secrecy and loss. And about identity--the haste with which it is cobbled together, or undone, always at terrible cost. It is a story that will stay with readers long after they finish the final page"-- Provided by publisher.

Title All stories are love stories.

Sat, 02/13/2016 - 7:14am
Author Percer, Elizabeth.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title Unrestored woman.

Sat, 02/13/2016 - 7:14am
Author Rao, Shobha.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title Chicago : a novel

Sat, 02/13/2016 - 7:14am
Author Doyle, Brian, 1956 November 6- author.
Edition: First edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary "On the last day of summer, a young college grad moved to Chicago and rented a small apartment on the north side of the city, by the lake. This is the story of the five seasons he lived there, during which he meets gangsters, gamblers, policemen, a brave and garrulous bus driver, a cricket player, a librettist, his first girlfriend, a shy apartment manager, and many other riveting souls, not to mention a wise and personable dog of indeterminate breed. A love letter to Chicago, the Great American City, and a wry account of a young man's coming-of-age during the one summer in White Sox history when they had the best outfield in baseball, Brian Doyle's Chicago is a novel that will plunge you into a city you will never forget, and may well wish to visit for the rest of your days"-- Provided by publisher.

Title The paper trail : an unexpected history of a revolutionary invention

Sat, 02/13/2016 - 7:14am
Author Monro, Alexander, author.
Edition: First American Edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary "Comprehensively researched, vividly written, The Paper Trail traces the cultural, political, and religious revolutions that this now globally ubiquitous material set in motion when it was new to the world. Alexander Monro--who has lived in, traveled through, studied, and written about China for many years--takes us from paper's refinement in 2nd century A.D. China, where it was used to solidify social and political systems that continue to influence the country today . . . to its use in the dissemination of the religions of Buddhism and Manichaeism . . . to its adoption in the Islamic world where it embedded the Koran in popular culture . . . to its role (together with printing) in the Renaissance, the Reformation, and the Scientific Revolution. It is a dramatic, surprising story populated by holy men and scholars, warriors and poets, war-makers and peacekeepers--a story we have never heard in its entirety before, brilliantly told in this luminous work of history"-- Provided by publisher.

Title Last execution

Sat, 02/13/2016 - 7:14am
Author Wung-Sung, Jesper, 1971-
Format: Books

Title The incident on the bridge

Sat, 02/13/2016 - 7:14am
Author McNeal, Laura, author.
Edition: First edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
URL: Cover image 9780375870798.jpg
Summary When Thisbe Locke is last seen standing on the edge of the Coronado Bridge it looks like there is only one thing to call it and the town prepares to mourn the loss, but her sister Ted, and Fen, the new kid in town, are not convinced and they set out to figure out what happend on that bridge and find Thisbe.

Title The future we want : radical ideas for a new century

Sat, 02/13/2016 - 7:14am
Edition: First edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title KOSHER USA : How Coke Became Kosher and Other Tales of Modern Food

Sat, 02/13/2016 - 7:14am
Author Horowitz, Roger
Format: Books

Title Backhand smash

Sat, 02/13/2016 - 7:14am
Author Gregson, J. M, author.
Edition: First world edition.
Publication Date(s) 2015-2016
Series: A Chief Inspector Peach mystery
Format: Books
Summary "Detective Sergeant Clyde Northcott--DCI Peach's tall, black, powerful protégé--has no interest in joining the snooty Birch Lane Tennis Club. So it is unfortunate for him when committee member Olive Crawshaw decides he would be the perfect talisman for the club's new, and controversial, policy to recruit members from a wider ethnic and social background. Clyde soon finds himself thrust into an exclusive community where his rusty tennis skills are the least of his concerns: for 'exclusive' does not mean moral, and while some of the club's members sail very close to the law, one of two of them go far beyond it. So when a distinguished club member is murdered, a problem arises: how can he and Peach unveil the killer, when almost everyone seemed to want the victim dead? -- Book jacket flap.

Title Terror in taffeta : a mystery

Sat, 02/13/2016 - 7:14am
Author Cooper, Marla, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary "Wedding planner Kelsey McKenna is just a few hours away from wrapping up her latest job: a destination wedding in the charming, colonial Mexican town of San Miguel de Allende. The reception is all set up, the tequila donkey is waiting outside, and the bride and groom are standing on the altar, pledging their eternal love. But just as the priest is about to pronounce them husband and wife, one of the bridesmaids upstages the couple by collapsing into a floral arrangement. Worst of all, Kelsey discovers that she hasn't just fainted-she's dead. The demanding mother of the bride, Mrs. Abernathy, insists Kelsey not tell the wedding party; she paid for a wedding after all, not a funeral.Losing a bridesmaid is bad enough, but when the bride's sister is arrested for murder, Mrs. Abernathy demands that Kelsey fix the matter at once. And although she's pretty sure investigating a murder isn't in her contract, crossing the well-connected mother of the bride could be a career-killer. Before she can leave Mexico and get back to planning weddings, Kelsey must deal with stubborn detectives, another dead body, and a rekindled romance in this smart, funny cozy debut perfect for fans of Carolyn Haines"-- Provided by publisher.

Title During

Sat, 02/13/2016 - 7:14am
Author Richardson, James, 1950-
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title Postcards from Stanland : journeys in Central Asia

Sat, 02/13/2016 - 7:14am
Author Mould, David H. (David Harley), 1949-
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary "Central Asia has long stood at the crossroads of history. It was the staging ground for the armies of the Mongol Empire, for the nineteenth-century struggle between the Russian and British empires, and for the NATO campaign in Afghanistan. Today, multinationals and nations compete for the oil and gas reserves of the Caspian Sea and for control of the pipelines. Yet 'Stanland' is still, to many, a terra incognita, a geographical blank. Beginning in the mid-1990s, academic and journalist David Mould's career took him to the region on Fulbright Fellowships and contracts as a media trainer and consultant for UNESCO and USAID, among others. In Postcards from Stanland, he takes readers along with him on his encounters with the people, landscapes, and customs of the diverse countries--Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan--he came to love. He talks with teachers, students, politicians, environmental activists, bloggers, cab drivers, merchants, Peace Corps volunteers, and more. Until now, few books for a nonspecialist readership have been written on the region, and while Mould brings his own considerable expertise to bear on his account--for example, he is one of the few scholars to have conducted research on post-Soviet media in the region--the book is above all a tapestry of place and a valuable contribution to our understanding of the post-Soviet world"-- Provided by publisher.

Title The final seven

Sat, 02/13/2016 - 7:14am
Author Spindler, Erica.
Format: Books

Title Dreaming of lions : my life in the wild places.

Sat, 02/13/2016 - 7:14am
Author Thomas, Elizabeth Marshall.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title Breaking Stones 1963-1965 a Band on the Brink of Superstardom.

Sat, 02/13/2016 - 7:14am
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title Rightful Heritage Franklin D. Roosevelt and the Land of America.

Sat, 02/13/2016 - 7:14am
Edition: Large print ed.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title Leaving Berlin.

Sat, 02/13/2016 - 7:14am
Edition: Large print ed.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Pages