New to the Collection

Title The Battle of the Atlantic : how the allies won the war

8 hours 48 min ago
Author Dimbleby, Jonathan, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title Stamped from the beginning : the definitive history of racist ideas in America

8 hours 48 min ago
Author Kendi, Ibram X., author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title The stopped heart

8 hours 48 min ago
Author Myerson, Julie.
Edition: First edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title Klickitat

8 hours 48 min ago
Author Rock, Peter, 1967- author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary Having joined her older sister, Audra, and a mysterious man on a wilderness survival adventure, Vivian seeks a connection between the man and the mysterious writing appearing in her notebook.

Title Russia.

8 hours 48 min ago
Publication Date(s) 1990-2016
Series: Insight guides
Format: Continuing Resources

Title DEADLY JEWELS

8 hours 48 min ago
Author de Beauvoir, Jeannette, author.
Edition: First Edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
URL: Cover image http://www.netread.com/jcusers2/bk1388/409/9781250045409/image/lgcover.9781250045409.jpg
Summary "When Martine LeDuc, the dedicated publicity director for the city of Montreal, is summoned into the mayor's office, she immediately runs through all the things that could have gone wrong in the press that day, but for once she's pleasantly surprised. The mayor has good news: the city is due for a PR coup. A doctoral researcher at McGill University has been part of some excavations under the city and has found positive proof that the British crown jewels were indeed, as the rumor goes, stored in Montrealunderground during WWII, and then subsequently returned to London. Martine is thrilled to be part of the excavation project, until it turns out that one of the dig's discoveries includes the remains of a man who has two small jewels resting where his stomach once was, and a bullet hole in the back of his skull. With a scandal of this magnitude Martine knows it's only a matter of time before the news gets out in a way that won't boost good PR for Montreal or her job. She decides to team up with an academic friend to figure out what happened with this decades-old theft, before the world finds out that two of London's prize jewels are fake, and before the nefarious circumstances that got them there get to Martine first and silence her for good"-- Provided by publisher.

Title Louisa : the extraordinary journey of mrs. adams.

8 hours 48 min ago
Author Thomas, Louisa.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title Lesser evils

8 hours 48 min ago
Author Flanagan, Joe.
Format: Books

Title Serpents in paradise

8 hours 48 min ago
Author Edwards, Martin.
Format: Books

Title Twisted river : a novel

8 hours 48 min ago
Author MacDonald, Siobhan.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Series: A Penguin Mystery
Format: Books
Summary "A gripping debut psychological thriller for fans of The Silent Wife and The Wicked Girls about two families in crisis and a holiday house swap gone terribly wrong "She would never have fit as neatly into the trunk of his own car." Limerick, Ireland: the O'Brien family's driveway. American Oscar Harvey opens the trunk of his hosts' car and finds the body of a woman, beaten and bloody. But let's start at the beginning. Kate and Mannix O'Brien live by Curragower Falls in Limerick, in a lovely house they can barely afford. Their autistic son Fergus is bullied at school, and their daughter Izzy blames herself, wishing she could protect him. Kate decides that her family needs a vacation, and is convinced her luck's about to change when she spots a gorgeous Manhattan apartment on a home-exchange website. Hazel and Oscar Harvey and their two children live on Manhattan's Upper West Side. Though they seem successful and happy, Hazel has mysterious bruises, and Oscar is hiding things about his dental practice. They, too, need a change of pace. Hazel has always wanted her children to see her native Limerick, and the house swap offers a perfect chance to soothe two troubled marriages. But this will be anything but a perfect vacation. And the body in the trunk is just the beginning"-- Provided by publisher.

Title LOVE IN A SHORT WHITE DRESS

8 hours 48 min ago
Author Weisberger, Lauren
Format: Books

Title Introductory accounting

8 hours 48 min ago
Author Ringstrom, David H., author.
Edition: First American edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Series: Idiot's guides : as easy as it gets!
Format: Books

Title All the single ladies : unmarried women and the rise of an independent nation

8 hours 48 min ago
Author Traister, Rebecca, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title STRANGE GLOW : The Story of Radiation

8 hours 48 min ago
Author Jorgensen, Timothy J.
Format: Books

Title Because of sex : one law, ten cases, and fifty years that changed American women's lives at work

8 hours 48 min ago
Author Thomas, Gillian (Lawyer), author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary "The 1964 Civil Rights Act is best known as a monumental achievement of the civil rights movement, but it also revolutionized the lives of American women. Title VII of the law made it illegal to discriminate "because of sex." But Congress gave little guidance about how much it wanted to change in a "Mad Men" world where women played mainly supporting roles. It was up to the Supreme Court, then, to endow that simple phrase with meaning, and its decisions set off seismic changes in how the nation sees working women - women like Ida Phillips, denied an assembly line job because she had small children and was assumed to be unreliable; or Kim Rawlinson, who fought to be an Alabama prison guard because she believed that being 5'3" and 115 pounds didn't mean she couldn't do a "man's job"; or Mechelle Vinson, whose years of sexual abuse by her boss showed that sexual harassment is just as much a denial of equal opportunity as a lower paycheck; or Ann Hopkins, voted down for partnership at Price Waterhouse because the men in charge thought she needed "a course at charm school." But if there is much to celebrate in America today, where women are Supreme Court justices and presidential contenders, there is also a long way to go. Peggy Young, whose case was heard by the Supreme Court in December 2014, was forced onto unpaid leave while pregnant because UPS refused to accommodate a temporary lifting restriction imposed by her doctor. To understand this and other remaining obstacles to women's full equality on the job - from "mommy tracking" to unequal pay to a sex-segregated workforce - we need to know how we got here. Because Of Sex tells that story, and gives an unsung group of heroines their due"-- Provided by publisher. "The 1964 Civil Rights Act is best known as a monumental achievement of the civil rights movement, but it also revolutionized the lives of American women. Title VII of the law made it illegal to discriminate "because of sex." But Congress did not specify how that would affect a "Mad Men" world where women played mainly supporting roles. The Supreme Court had to endow the phrase with meaning, and its decisions dramatically changed how the nation sees working women - women like Ida Phillips, denied an assembly line job because having small children deemed her unreliable; or Kim Rawlinson, who fought to be a prison guard because she believed that being 5'3" and 115 pounds didn't mean she couldn't do a "man's job"; or Ann Hopkins, refused a partnership at Price Waterhouse because the men in charge thought she needed "a course at charm school." But even if women are Supreme Court justices and presidential contenders today, there is a long way to go. Peggy Young, whose case was heard by the Supreme Court in December 2014, was forced onto unpaid leave while pregnant because UPS refused to accommodate a temporary lifting restriction imposed by her doctor. To understand this and other remaining obstacles to women's full equality on the job - from "mommy tracking" to unequal pay to a sex-segregated workforce - we need to know how we got here. Because Of Sex tells that story, and gives an unsung group of heroines their due"-- Provided by publisher.

Title When women win : EMILY's list and the rise of women in American politics

8 hours 48 min ago
Author Malcolm, Ellen, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title THE BOOKS THAT CHANGED MY LIFE

8 hours 48 min ago
Author Patrick, Bethanne
Format: Books

Title WORLDS ELSEWHERE : JOURNEYS AROUND SHAKESPEARE'S GLOBE

8 hours 48 min ago
Author Dickson, Andrew, 1979- author.
Edition: First U.S. edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
URL: Cover image
Summary "There are 83 copies of the First Folio in a vault beneath Capitol Hill, the world's largest collection. Well over 150 Indian movies are based on Shakespeare's plays-more than in any other nation. If current trends continue, there will soon be more high-school students reading The Merchant of Venice in Mandarin Chinese than in early-modern English. Why did this happen-and how? Ranging ambitiously across four continents and 400 years, Worlds Elsewhere is an eye-opening account of how Shakespeare went global. Seizing inspiration from the playwright's own fascination with travel, foreignness and distant worlds, Dickson takes us on an extraordinary journey-from Hamlet performed by English actors tramping through Poland in the early 1600s to twenty-first century Shanghai, where Shashibiya survived Mao's Cultural Revolution to become an honored Chinese author. En route we visit Nazi Germany, where Shakespeare became an unlikely favorite, and delve into the history of Bollywood, where Shakespearian stories helped give birth to Indian cinema. In Johannesburg, we discover how Shakespeare was enlisted into the fight to end apartheid. In California, we encounter him as the most popular playwright of the American frontier. Both a cultural history and a literary travelogue, the first of its kind, Worlds Elsewhere explores how Shakespeare became the world's writer, and how his works have changed beyond all recognition during the journey"-- Provided by publisher.

Title Bowl : vegetarian recipes for ramen, pho, bibimbap, dumplings, and other one-dish meals

8 hours 48 min ago
Author Volger, Lukas, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary "Flavorful vegetarian versions of America's favorite one-dish meals: ramen, pho, bibimbap, dumplings, and burrito bowls A restorative bowl of vegetarian ramen sent Lukas Volger on a quest to capture the full flavor of all the one-bowl meals that are the rage today--but in vegetarian form. With the bowl as organizer, the possibilities for improvisational meals full of seasonal produce and herbs are nearly endless. Volger's ramen explorations led him from a simple bowl of miso ramen to a glorious summer ramen with corn broth, tomatoes, and basil. From there, he went on to the Vietnamese noodle soup pho, with combinations like caramelized spring onions, peas, and baby bok choy. His edamame dumplings with mint are served in soup or over salad, while spicy carrot dumplings appear over toasted quinoa and kale for a rounded dinner. Imaginative grain bowls range from ratatouille polenta to black rice burrito with avocado. And unlike their meatier counterparts, these dishes can be made in little time and without great expense. Volger also includes many tips, techniques, and indispensable base recipes perfected over years of cooking, including broths, handmade noodles, sauces, and garnishes. "-- Provided by publisher.

Pages