Subject Guide for Business and Investing

Databases

Business Insights

Company and Industry information, investment reports, financial information, Index and full-text business periodicals. 

General Business File

Company profiles, Investext brokerage reports, and magazine articles on companies, industries, and business topics. This database contains the same periodicals as the Business and Company Resource Center with an older interface.

Lexis Nexis Library Express

Over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources including the New York Times, law reviews, legal cases and hundreds more. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. Legal information is available in-library only.

Morningstar.com

Find a stock or fund, research current or prospective holdings, x-ray your portfolio.

Record Information Services - Illinois Public Records

Search real estate transactions, foreclosures & auctions, new businesses and bankruptcies in Illinois.

Record Information Services - Illinois Public Records (REMOTE ACCESS)

Search real estate transactions, foreclosures & auctions, new businesses and bankruptcies in Illinois.

Reference USA

Look up addresses, phone, numbers, and information about U.S. companies. Also good for creating mailing lists.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Including Standard & Poor's Stock Reports, Industry Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Daily News, CreditWeek, and more.

Virtual Reference Library Business Collection

Electronic editions of 12 business reference sources including Business Plans Handbooks, Company Profiles for Students, Encyclopedia of American Industries, Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, Encyclopedia of Management, Encyclopedia of Small Business, Gale E-Commerce Sourcebook
Gale Encyclopedia of E-Commerce, and International Directory of Business Biographies.

 

 

Wall Street Journal

Full text  of national and international financial and hard news. Coverage: 1982-current. Note: Stock quotes and charts are not included.

Weblinks

Advertising and Marketing

Federal Trade Commission: Advertising

Focuses on government regulation.

Marketing @ About.com

A wide variety of full-text articles in 25 subject areas written by marketing/advertising experts and teachers.

University of Texas Advertising World

Links to advertising and marketing information in nearly 80 subject categories such as Broadcast and Print Media, Direct Marketing, Hot Web Sites, and Promotional Products.

Associations

Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA)

The Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) is the largest independent regulator for all securities firms doing business in the United States. FINFA's mission is to protect America's investors by making sure the securities industry operates fairly and honestly. Use the Broker Check® "to check the background of your investment professional."

Financial Planning Association of Illinois

FPA is the premier resource connecting consumers with financial planners that will deliver advice using and objective, client-centered, ethical process.

Securities and Exchange Commission

Bonds and Securities

Bonds Online

Details on the basics of bond investing and how to select a broker.

Investing in Bonds

Resource created by the Bond Market Association, educates investors about U.S. securities, municipal bonds, corporate bonds, and other bond types.

SmartMoney.com--Bonds

Guide to fixed-income investments from SmartMoney.com.

U.S. Bureau of the Public Debt

Learn more about U.S. Treasury securities.

Business and Investing

CNNMoney

CNN, Fortune, and Money Magazine team up to offer business news and financial information.

Marketwatch.com

Dow Jones and Company's site for business news, personal finance advice, and investment information.

MSN Money

MSN site contains business news and commentary, investing information, and personal finance education. Rated as a top investment site by Barron's.

Yahoo! Finance

This site offers financial news, company and industry information, and personal finance education. Historical stock data.

Business and Investing Education

InvestorWords

Glossary of investment terms.

Motley Fool

Investor education, market data and charts, free daily email newsletter, and lively chat boards.

SEC Investor Information

SEC's Office of Investor Education and Assistance provides a variety of services to address the problems and questions you may face as an investor. We cannot tell you what investments to make, but we can tell you how to invest wisely and avoid fraud.

Caluclators / Currency Exchange

Bankrate Calculators
Oanda.com

Historical currency exchange data.

Certificates of Deposit

Bank CD Rate Scanner

Rate comparisons from thousands of FDIC-insured U.S. banks.

Bankrate.com

Comparison shop for certificates of deposit and other interest rates.

Company Research

Researching Companies Online
Thomas Register

Search the well-known manufacturers directory.

Investing

Researching Companies Online
Thomas Register

Search the well-known manufacturers directory.

Mutual Funds

Mutual Fund Investor's Center

Mutual fund education from the Mutual Fund Education Alliance.

Mutual Funds, Financial Advice and Planning - CNNMoney.com

Articles, news, and mutual fund analysis.

Patents and Trademarks

State Trademark Agencies Links
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Trademark Search

Small Business Information

AllBusiness

Get small business advice and a wealth of resources from this D&B site.

BPlans.com

500+ Sample Business Plans.

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance

Search for grants, training, guaranteed loans, and 12 other types of assistance.

eLaws - Employment Laws Assistance

This interactive site from the Department of Labor can help both employers and employees understand the federal employment law.

Findlaw's Small Business Center

Provides information and resources for small business owners, and help for entrepreneurs seeking to get a business idea off the ground.

Franchise Handbook Online

The Franchise Handbook offers articles, links to associations, a franchise directory and more.

FranchiseGator

Locate franchises and businesses for sale.

Illinois Department of Labor

Find laws, forms, and more from the State Department of Labor.

Illinois Small Business Development Center

Find your path to success with our CLC's small business expertise. Offering one-on-one consulting targeted to small businesses and entrepreneurs.

SCORE: Service Corps of Retired Executives

SCORE matches small business owners with retired executives willing to offer advice on business matters.

Small Business Administration
State of Illinois Small Business Portal

Discover how to start and run a business in Illinois.

Stocks

Big Charts

Current data and daily stock quotes back to January, 1985.

IPO Central

Information and news about initial public offerings sponsored by Hoover's Online and Edgar Online.

Online Investor Stock Splits and Historical Stock Splits

Print Magazines

Business and Investing

Advertising Age
Adweek
Barron's National Business and Financial Weekly
Better Investing
Bloomberg/Business Week
Crain's Chicago Business
Entrepreneur
Federal Jobs Digest
Financial Times
Forbes
Fortune
Harvard Business Review
Hulbert Financial Digest
Inc
Investor's Business Daily
Kiplinger's Personal Finance Magazine
Money
Smart Money
Survey of Current Business