Subject Guide for Consumer Resources

Databases

Chicago Consumer's Checkbook

Reviews and ratings of local service providers and products including automobiles, health care, home care, pets, stores, and much more.In-Library use only.

Chicago Consumer's Checkbook (REMOTE ACCESS)

Reviews and ratings of local service providers and products including automobiles, health care, home care, pets, stores, and much more.

Consumer Reports Online

The last 4 years of reports from Consumer Reports including autos. Includes reports not found in the printed magazine.

Price It! Antiques and Collectibles

A comprehensive resource for identifying, researching and pricing art, antiques and collectibles.

Weblinks

Charities

BBB Wise Giving Alliance

Charity evaluation reports on nationally soliciting charitable organizations. From the National Charities Information Bureau and the Council of Better Business Bureaus' Foundation and its Philanthropic Advisory Service.

Charity Navigator

Formerly in print, Charity Navigator is an independent source that evaluates the financial health of over 5400 American charities.

GuideStar

Using Internal Revenue Service data, GuideStar provides online reports detailing the finances and programs of more than 600,000 charities.

idealist.org

Highlight is a searchable database of IRS information on nonprofits. Good place to find smaller organizations.

Network for Good

Offers information on over 1,000,000 charities and not for profit organizations.

The Foundation Center Online

Clearinghouse for information on U.S. philanthropy.

General Consumer Resources

annualcreditreport.com

The only authorized source to obtain a free annual credit report from the three credit reporting companies.

Better Business Bureau

Check out a business or charity, file a complaint, or find a BBB-accredited business.

Consumer Product Safety Commission

CPSC is "charged with protecting the public from unreasonable risks of injury or death from thousands of types of consumer products".  Find recalls and get safety information.

Consumer Search

Includes product reviews and lists of "top" products in categories such as electronics, sports, office, kitchen, health and automotive.

Consumer World

Links to more than 1500 consumer sites for shopping, bargins, product reviews, and financial information.

Federal Trade Commission for the Consumer

Online service of the Office of Consumer and Business Education of the Bureau of Consumer Protection offers publications and an online form for filing complaints.

Privacy Rights Clearinghouse

Repository for information on privacy-related issues including tips on preventing and recovering from identity theft.

Real Estate and Relocation

Chicago Tribune Homes Section

Real estate listings and community profiles for the Chicago area.

Homefair.com

Experiment with the Salary Calculator, Lifestyle Optimizer, Moving Calculator, Relocation Wizard, and Relocation Crime Lab.

International Real Estate Digest

Extensive links to real estate services in the United States and abroad.

Moving.com

Find movers and get cost estimates.

Renter's Handbook

From Prairie State Legal Services. Helpful information about your rights and responsibilities as a tenant in Illinois.

Trulia

Trulia shows homes for sale. Includes hi-res photo galleries and detailed neighborhood maps.

zillow.com

A home valuation tool that will provide an estimated value of any house.