Subject Guide for Health

Databases

Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module

New interface to Health Reference Center.  Magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories and information on topics of health and wellness.   online tour 

Weblinks

Alternative Medicine

Wholehealthmd.com

Dedicated to providing the best in complementary and alternative medicine.  Includes a reference library, expert Q & A, and healthy recipe makeovers

Drugs

Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER)

Information on evaluation and approval of new drugs.

CenterWatch

The global source for clinical trials information.

PDR Health (Physician's Desk Reference)

This consumer health guide covers prescription, non-prescription,and herbal medicines. Also contains information on specific diseases and conditions.

For Caregivers

Family Caregiver Alliance

Provides information and support for caregivers providing long-term care at home.

National Alliance for Caregiving

Visit this site for caregiving tips and links to many other excellent sites

Health

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Provides a wealth of health and safety information in English and Spanish.

Free Medical Journals

Over 430 medical journals with free access to articles.

HealthFinder

Online heath resource from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

MEDLINE

Index of article in areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. Some full-text.

MedLinePlus Spanish

Spanish-language edition of MedLinePlus.

Multilingual Consumer Health Information
National Suicide Prevention Lifeline

The National Suicide Prevention Lifeline provides free and confidential emotional support to people in suicidal crisis or emotional distress 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Since its inception, the Lifeline has engaged in a variety of initiatives to improve crisis services and advance suicide prevention.

NIH Senior Health

Health and wellness information for older adults from the National Institutes of Health.

Nursing Home Compare from Medicare

Provides detailed information about the past performance of every Medicare and Medicaid certified nursing home in the country.

WebMD

A resource for online health information services.

Mental Health

Mental Help Net

Comprehensive source of online mental health information, news and resources.

National Institute of Mental Health

Transforming the understanding and treatment of mental illness through research.

National Mental Health Association

Fact sheets, pamphlets, discussion boards, and other resources on mental health.

Nutrition

American Dietetic Association

Your link to nutrition and health.

Center for Science in the Public Interest

Consumer advocacy orgainzation for health and nutrition.

Nutrition.gov

Easy access to the best food and nutrition information from across the federal government. Smart nutrition starts here!

Seniors

NIH Senior Health

Health and wellness information for older adults from the National Institutes of Health.

Nursing Home Compare from Medicare

Provides detailed information about the past performance of every Medicare and Medicaid certified nursing home in the country.

Teen Health

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline

The National Suicide Prevention Lifeline provides free and confidential emotional support to people in suicidal crisis or emotional distress 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Since its inception, the Lifeline has engaged in a variety of initiatives to improve crisis services and advance suicide prevention.

Women's Health

National Women's Health Information Center

A gateway to women's health information from the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services.  In English and Spanish.

Print Magazines

Health

Harvard Health Letter
JAMA: Journal of the American Medical Association
Men's Health
Muscle & Fitness
New England Journal of Medicine
Prevention
Psychology Today