Subject Guide for Homework Helpers

Databases

ABC-Clio American History

Explore an era or analyze an event in American History.

African American History Online

Includes primary source documents, images, timelines, biographies and thousands of entries on African American history.

American Indian History Online

Contains tribe Index, culture area index, biographies, events, primary sources, images and learning centers.

Ancient and Medieval History Online

This database covers six civilizations: Africa, Egypt, Greece, Rome, Mesopotamia, and Mesoamerica from the early Hominids 3 to 5 million years ago to flourishing cultures in 600 CE.

Chicago Tribune Article Database

Full-text articles from 1985 to the present

Chicago Tribune Digital Microfilm

Browse the full content of the Chicago Tribune, from 2008 onward.  Not searchable.

Chicago Tribune Historical Newspaper

Full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1849-1984.

CultureGrams

Includes World Edition (182 country reports), Kids Edition (66 country reports), and States Edition (50 states and District of Columbia)--plus photos, recipes, biographies, data tables, maps, and more.

Daily Life Online

A social history resource; how others lived and live their lives, and how their lives shaped ours

eLibrary Elementary

Features a colorful, graphical search interface for elementary school students to find the answers they need from more than 130 magazines, newspapers, books, transcripts, maps, images, and educator-approved websites.

eLibrary Plus

Full-text newspapers, magazines, international newswires, maps, photographs, and television and  radio transcripts.

General Reference Center Gold

Magazines, reference books, and newspapers for information, book reviews, and research.

Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia

Multimedia encyclopedia featuring animations, videos, and more. In-Library use only.

InfoTrac Power Search

Search multiple sources simultaneously. The General Reference Center Gold, General Business File, Health Reference Center Academic, Opposing Viewpoints Reference Center, and the Virtual Reference Library are all included in this multiple search tool. Search them all together, or one at a time, and retrieve journal and magazine articles, reference book articles, and multimedia material.

New Book of Popular Science

A science encyclopedia geared to students. In-Library use only.

New York Times Historical Newspaper

The New York Times in its entirety from 1857 through 1999. Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Advertisements and photos included.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Primary source information about important social issues. Explore issues from all perspectives with newspaper and magazine articles, essays, biographies, court case overviews, podcasts, and more.

Popular Culture Universe

An authoritative, digital library of information on American and world popular culture from the 1900s to the present.  Browse by decade or search by item or event.

Virtual Reference Library

Electronic editions of over 200 encyclopedias and other reference books for children and adults. May be searched individually or together. Topics include: Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, General Reference, History, Information and Publishing, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, Social Science.

Weblinks

General Reference Sources

Dictionary.com

Featuring a variety of tools including thesauri, translator, and writing resources.

Homework Helpers

A+ Research and Writing

From the Internet Public library, a step by step guide to researching and writing a paper for teens.

Dictionary.com

Featuring a variety of tools including thesauri, translator, and writing resources.

High School Ace

This noncommercial site offers links to high school-level academic resources online, as well as online learning activities, a section on current events, and an area devoted to college/career planning.

Homework Center

An Internet subject directory from the Multnomah County Public Library which consists of Web resources that specifically concentrate on homework-related subjects. Web resources included on this site are reviewed by reference staff from Multnomah County Library.

Homework Spot

HomeworkSpot is designed to be a "homework information portal," covering all curriculum areas and offering a breakdown of resources by grade level (elementary through high school). A highlighted site and special theme areas which vary with the season add a nice dimension to the permanent reference links.

Internet Public Library for Teens

A great resource with special sections for youth and teens. The IPL's pathfinders are research guides to a selected topics. If one matches your interest (or your homework assignment), you're in luck.

Plagiarism: What It is and How to Recognize and Avoid It

This website from Indiana University explains what plagiarism is and how how to avoid it. When the temptation hits to "cut and paste" read this first.

ProQuest Homework Help

Offers research starters, info on study skills and more.

Sources: Their Use and Acknowledgement

This easy to use guide from Dartmouth College provides examples for citing a wide variety of different kinds of materials in several different formats and styles.

Writing

A+ Research and Writing

From the Internet Public library, a step by step guide to researching and writing a paper for teens.

Plagiarism: What It is and How to Recognize and Avoid It

This website from Indiana University explains what plagiarism is and how how to avoid it. When the temptation hits to "cut and paste" read this first.

Sources: Their Use and Acknowledgement

This easy to use guide from Dartmouth College provides examples for citing a wide variety of different kinds of materials in several different formats and styles.

Print Magazines