Subject Guide for Music

Databases

American Song

The history of American music in an online music listening service. The collection contains the African American Song collection.

Classical Music Library

Classical music recordings for listening and learning. You can browse by Composer, Artist, Conductor, Ensemble, Instrument, Genre, Period, or Label.

Contemporary World Music

Music from all regions from every continent such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and more.

Freegal

 A downloadable and streaming music service. Highland Park library card required.  

hoopla

A downloadable and streaming music service that provides access to music as well as movies, television shows, and audiobooks. A Highland Park library card is required.

Music Online

Music Online is an interface to the following databases American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound.

 
Smithsonian Global Sound

This collection features American Folk, Blues, Bluegrass, Old Time Country, American Indian, World, Jazz, Classical & Broadway, Spoken Word & Sounds, & Children's music.

Weblinks

Classical Music

Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Website for the CSO.

Classical Net

A portal for information on classical music online, including a basic repertoire, a CD buying guide, recommended CDs, composer works & data, reviews & articles.  This site now features reviews of more than 1800 CDs, as well as 5500 files and over 3800 links to a wide array of classical music sites.

Gramophone

The online site for Gramophone magazine contains news, awards, and Gramofile, the world's largest archive of CDs and reviews (over 23,000 reviews and over 30, 000 CDs), as well as free access to the Grove Concise Dictionary of Music.

Lyric Opera of Chicago

Website for the Lyric.

General Music

All Music Guide

A companion site to the popular book series, this website provides artist biographies, album reviews, and discographies for a variety of genres.  Search by artist, album, song, style or label, or browse music styles, music maps, articles  and more.  Does not include clips that can be listened to.

Historic American Sheet Music

This collection from Duke University includes digital images of over 16,000 pages of sheet music from 3042 pieces published in the United States between 1850 and 1920.

IMSLP/Petrucci Music Library

The International Music Score Library Project is a free, public domain sheet music library.

Morton Grove Public Library Song Index

An index to the contents of the song books collection at the Morton Grove Public Library.  The index does not include actual lyrics or music, but rather references to books containing lyrics and music, some of which are also owned by the Highland Park Public Library.

National Jukebox

National Jukebox, from the Library of Congress, makes historical streaming sound recordings available to the public free of charge. Listen to Enrico Caruso, speeches by William Howard Taft and Teddy Roosevelt, early Tin Pan Alley recordings and lots more.

Sibley Music Library: Public Domain Score

The Sibley Music Library at the Eastman School of Music offers, for personal use, digital copies of scores from its collections that are in the public domain.  See their page for more details.

Pop Music

Billboard

Read reviews and articles, see the charts, and get the latest from Billlboard.com.

Fluxblog

An MP3 blog created by Matthew Perpetua, you can find a free download every day of an eclectic mix of songs.

Live Music Archive

This is a collection of royalty-free, no-cost music available for downloading.

Pandora Internet Radio

Create your own radio station and listen to new music.

Pitchfork

Read reviews, interviews, listen to music and read their extensive collection of "best of the decade" lists in this well-known site, based out of Chicago.

Pollstar

Search by city or artist to find concerts and tour information for your favorite singer/group.

Soul Sides

An audioblog offering reviews and industry information, along with some hard-to-find downloads.

Ultimate Band List

Links to artist web sites.

World Music

African Music

Encyclopedia of African music and its diaspora.

Ceolas: Celtic Music

Master online source for Celtic music on the Internet.

Print Magazines

Music

Down Beat
Entertainment Weekly
Gramophone
Opera News
Rolling Stone
Sound and Vision
Variety