Subject Guide for Newspapers and Magazines

Databases

Chicago Tribune Article Database

Full-text articles from 1985 to the present

Chicago Tribune Digital Microfilm

Browse the full content of the Chicago Tribune, from 2008 onward.  Not searchable.

Chicago Tribune Historical Newspaper

Full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1849-1984.

eLibrary Plus

Full-text newspapers, magazines, international newswires, maps, photographs, and television and  radio transcripts.

General Business File

Company profiles, Investext brokerage reports, and magazine articles on companies, industries, and business topics. This database contains the same periodicals as the Business and Company Resource Center with an older interface.

General Reference Center Gold

Magazines, reference books, and newspapers for information, book reviews, and research.

InfoTrac Power Search

Search multiple sources simultaneously. The General Reference Center Gold, General Business File, Health Reference Center Academic, Opposing Viewpoints Reference Center, and the Virtual Reference Library are all included in this multiple search tool. Search them all together, or one at a time, and retrieve journal and magazine articles, reference book articles, and multimedia material.

Lexis Nexis Library Express

Over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources including the New York Times, law reviews, legal cases and hundreds more. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. Legal information is available in-library only.

New York Times Historical Newspaper

The New York Times in its entirety from 1857 through 1999. Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Advertisements and photos included.

Wall Street Journal

Full text  of national and international financial and hard news. Coverage: 1982-current. Note: Stock quotes and charts are not included.

Zinio

Access 60 + popular magazines cover-to-cover on your computer or tablet. Visit Zinio to get started or take a look at our step-by-step instructions.Read more.

 

Download the app:​

iOS | Android | Kindle Fire | Blackberry | Windows Phone | Windows 8

Weblinks

HIghland Park

Highland Park News

History and Biography

Making of America

A thematically-related digital library documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, this collection contains 109 monographs (267 volumes) and 22 journals (955 volumes) with imprints primarily between 1840 - 1900.

Local News

Highland Park News
Highland Park Newspaper Index

An index created by librarians beginning with the earliest edition of the Highland Park News in 1874. The index includes local news articles and obituaries from several newspapers published in Highland Park.

Highland Park Patch
Trib Local

Newspapers and Magazines

Chicago Reader
Chicago Sun-Times

This publication is also available in Lexis Nexis

Chicago Tribune Website

This publication is also avaialble in a subscription database.

Christian Science Monitor

This pubilcation is also available in Lexis Nexis

Crain's Chicago Business

Thjis publication is also available in Lexis Nexis

Daily Herald

This publication is also available in Lexis Nexis

Free Medical Journals

Free availability of full-text medical journals.

Highland Park Newspaper Index

An index created by librarians beginning with the earliest edition of the Highland Park News in 1874. The index includes local news articles and obituaries from several newspapers published in Highland Park.

Jerusalem Post

This publication is also available in Lexis Nexis

JSTOR

JStor contains thousands of articles. Most of the content is by subscription only, but JStor has recently made access to journal content published prior to 1923 in the U.S. and prior to 1870 elsewhere, free to the public. To find freely available content, use the advanced search and check the box "Include only content I can access". There are nearly 500,000 articles from more than 200 journals included in this free content.

Making of America

A thematically-related digital library documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, this collection contains 109 monographs (267 volumes) and 22 journals (955 volumes) with imprints primarily between 1840 - 1900.

New York Times Website

This publication is also available in Lexis Nexis

Online Newspapers
The London Times
U.S.A. Today

This publication is also available in Lexis Nexis

Wall Street Journal

This publication is also available in a subscription database.

Print Magazines

Newspapers and Magazines

Atlantic Monthly
Chicago Sun Times
Chicago Tribune
Christian Science Monitor
Highland Park News
Jerusalem Post
New York Times Large Type Weekly
News-Sun
Reader; Chicago's free weekly
U.S.A. Today (newspaper, M-F)
Village Voice
Wall Street Journal (M-F) (Midwest Edition)
Washington Post (Sunday only)