Subject Guide for Science

Databases

National Geographic Magazine Archive 1888-current

Explore the articles and photographs that made National Geographic famous!  Search by topic, photograph, or issue. 

New Book of Popular Science

A science encyclopedia geared to students. In-Library use only.

Science Resource Center

An in-depth, curriculum-oriented database that provides a one-stop resource for all science-related research needs. Includes full-text articles, reference books, and more.

Weblinks

Astronomy and Space

Mars Exploration Rover

The Mars Exploration Rover mission is part of NASA's Mars Exploration Program, a long-term effort of robotic exploration of the red planet.

NASA Homepage

Gateway to the largest collection of space-related information on the Internet.

Windows on the Universe

Information on the planets, satellites, sun, and the rest of the Solar System.

Biology

eNature.com
Endangered Species Program
Genome programs of the U.S. Department of Energy
Site of the U.S. Human Genome Project, Genomic Science Program, and Microbial Genome Program--all sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy Genome Programs
 

 

WWF Living Planet Report

From the World Wildlife Federation, a report on the state of the world's ecosystems.

Chemistry

World of Chemistry

Environment and Conservation

eNature.com
Endangered Species Program
WWF Living Planet Report

From the World Wildlife Federation, a report on the state of the world's ecosystems.

Physics

World of Physics

Science

Science.gov

A directory of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies. The site can be searched and is divided into categories for easy browsing. Informational and educational sites from inside and outside government sources are provided. A very comprehensive and useful source for information from all scientific disciplines including agriculture, astronomy, computers, mathematics, oceanography, physics, and much more.

Weather

Coastwatch: Great Lakes Water Surface Temperatures

Locate surface temperatures on Lake Michigan along Chicago's shore.

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Get weather data from NOAA.

Weather.com

Get weather information from all over the globe.