24 hour
resource |
|
African American History Online -
Includes primary source documents, images, timelines, biographies and
thousands of entries on African American history. |
24 hour
resource |
|
African American Song - The history of
African American music in an online music listening service. The
collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues,
gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others |
| |
|
America the Beautiful
- Information on U.S. states and territories.
In-Library use only. |
24 hour
resource |
|
American Indian History Online - Contains tribe
Index, culture area index, biographies, events, primary sources, images
and learning centers. |
| |
|
Ancestry
Library Edition - Genealogy research. Census
records, social security death index, military records, slave
narratives.... In-Library use only. |
24 hour
resource |
|
Ancient and Medieval History Online - This
database covers six civilizations—Africa, Egypt,
Greece, Rome, Mesopotamia, and Mesoamerica from the early Hominids 3 to
5 million years ago to flourishing cultures in 600 CE. |
24 hour
resource |
 |
Auto Repair Reference Center - automotive repair
information for more than 31,660 vehicles from 1945 to present, with wiring diagrams, service bulletins,
recall information, service estimates, and more |
24 hour
resource |
|
Bloom's Literary Reference Online - Hundreds
of Bloom's essays, which examine the lives and works of great writers
throughout history and the world. This database also contains an archive
of more than 38,000 characters, as well as extensive entries on literary
topics, themes, movements, and genres. |
24 hour
resource |
 |
Business & Company Resource Center - Company and
Industry information, investment reports, financial information, Index
and full-text business periodicals.
U |
24 hour
resource |
|
Chicago Tribune - Full-text articles from 1985 to
the present |
24 hour
resource |
|
Chicago Tribune Historical Newspaper - Full
page and article images with searchable full text. 1849-1984. |
24
hour
resource |
|
Classical Music Library - Classical music recordings
for listening and learning. You can browse by Composer, Artist,
Conductor, Ensemble, Instrument, Genre, Period, or Label. |
| |
|
Contemporary Authors - Please see
Literature Resource Center for information formerly found in this
database. |
| |
|
Consumerreports.org
The last 4 years of reports from Consumer Reports is
available only on the database computer station in the Computer Area. |
24 hour
resource |
|
CultureGrams -
Includes World Edition (182 country reports), Kids Edition (66 country
reports), and States Edition (50 states and District of Columbia)--plus
photos, recipes, biographies, data tables, maps, and more. |
24 hour
resource |
|
Daily Life Online- A social history
resource; how others lived and live their lives, and how their lives
shaped ours. |
24 hour
resource |
|
eLibrary Elementary - Features a colorful,
graphical search interface for elementary school students to find the
answers they need from more than 130 magazines, newspapers, books,
transcripts, maps, images, and educator-approved websites. |
24 hour
resource |
|
eLibrary Plus -Full-text newspapers, magazines,
international newswires, maps, photographs, and television and raio
transcripts. |
24 hour
resource |
|
eLibraryScience - Science resources from nearly
500 sources including magazines, journals, reference books, transcripts
and more. |
| |
|
Encyclopedia Americana - 45,000 articles covering all academic fields and curriculum topics.
In-Library use only. |
24 hour resource eLibraryScience - Science resources from nearly 500
sources including magazines, journals, reference books, transcripts and
more.
Encyclopedia Americana - 45,000 articles covering all academic fields and
curriculum topics. In-Library use only.
24 hour
resource |
|
Enciclopedia Estdiantil Hallazgos - A World Book
encyclopedia in Spanish for elementary and middle school students. La
Enciclopedia estudiantil hallazgos en línea es
una enciclopedia de conocimientos generales. Continene información
sobre gente, lugares, objectos, acontecimientos e ideas |
24 hour
resource |
|
ERIC - Index of journal articles and reports in
education. Some full-text. |
24 hour
resource |
|
General Business File - Company profiles, Investext
brokerage reports, and magazine articles on companies, industries, and
business topics. This database contains the same periodicals as the
Business and Company Resource Center with an older interface. |
24 hour
resource |
|
General Reference Center Gold - Magazines, reference
books, and newspapers for information, book reviews, and research. |
| |
|
Grolier Multimedia
Encyclopedia - Multimedia encyclopedia featuring
animations, videos, and more.
In-Library use only. |
24 hour
resource |
|
Health Reference Center - Academic - Articles from
health magazines, journals, health encyclopedias, and pamphlets. This
database contains the same periodicals as the Health and Wellness
Resource Center, but with an older interface. |
24 hour
resource |
|
Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module
- New interface to Health Reference Center.Magazines,
journals, newspapers, definitions, directories and information on topics
of health and wellness.
online tour
|
24 hour
resource |
|
HeritageQuest - Search U.S. federal census, banking
and military records, genealogies, local histories, primary source
materials, and genealogical and local history serials. |
24 hour
resource |
|
Illinois
Periodicals Online - This resource from the Illinois
State Library provides access to 10 Illinois-related periodicals being
digitized at Northern Illinois University. Titles include "Illinois
Farmer", "Illinois Parks & Recreation", and others. |
24 hour
resource |
|
InfoTrac Power Search - Search multiple sources
simultaneously. The General Reference Center Gold, General Business
File, Health Reference Center Academic, Opposing Viewpoints Reference
Center, and the Virtual Reference Library are all included in this
multiple search tool. Search them all together, or one at a time, and
retrieve journal and magazine articles, reference book articles, and
multimedia material. |
| |
|
Lands and Peoples -
Encyclopedia of countries, cultures, and current events that is geared
to student readers.
In-Library use only. |
24 hour
resource |
|
Literature Resource Center - Biographies,
bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and
literary discipline... covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets,
essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of
2,500 of the most-studied authors. |
24 hour
resource |
 |
Morningstar.com - Find a stock or fund, research
current or prospective holdings, x-ray your portfolio. |
24 hour
resource |
|
MEDLINE - Index of article in areas of medicine,
including dentistry and nursing. Some full-text. |
24 hour
resource |
|
netLibrary - eBooks from that can be checked out,
and viewed by visiting the netLibrary website. Titles include those from
the popular Dummies series, Cliff's Notes, reference
books, and scholarly titles. Also, over 4000 public domain materials,
including Shakespeare's plays, are freely accessible. |
| |
|
New Book of Popular Science
- A science encyclopedia geared to students.
In-Library use only. |
24 hour
resource |
 |
New York Times
- Full-text articles from the New York Times from 1999 to
the present. |
24 hour
resource |
 |
New York Times Historical Newspaper -
The New York Times in its entirety from 1857 through 1999.
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first
issue. Advertisements and photos included. |
24 hour
resource |
|
NoveList - Use this readers' advisory tool to find a
good book by topic, authors similar to your favorites, and book
discussion guides. |
24 hour
resource |
|
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center - Primary source
information about important issues. Articles from reference books,
newspapers, and magazines are collected in one database for researching
current topics. |
24 hour
resource |
|
Public Records Electronic Database - Public records
in Lake, Cook, and other counties with home sales, bankruptcies, new
businesses and foreclosures. |
24 hour
resource |
 |
ReferenceUSA -Look up addresses, phone, numbers, and
information about U.S. companies. |
24 hour
resource |
|
Science Online - This database covers
a broad range of scientific disciplines with
definitions, essays, diagrams, illustrations, images, biographies,
experiments, and activities. |
24 hour
resource |
|
Smithsonian Global Sound - This collection features
American Folk, Blues, Bluegrass, Old Time Country, American Indian,
World, Jazz, Classical & Broadway, Spoken Word & Sounds, & Children's
music. |
24 hour
resource |
|
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage - Including
Standard & Poor's Stock Reports, Industry Reports, Mutual Fund Reports,
Daily News, CreditWeek, and more. |
|
|
|
The Statesman's Yearbook
2007- The full text of the current edition of The
Statesman's Yearbook, with country profiles, essays, event
chronologies, and information about international organizations and
people.1 user only. Please logout when done.
In-Library use only. |
| |
|
Value Line -
The online editions of the Value Line and Value Line Expanded
Edition are available for use only at the database computer
station in the Computer Room. |
24 hour
resource |
|
Wall Street Journal - Full text of national and
international financial and hard news. Coverage: 1982-current. Note:
Stock quotes and charts are not included. |
24 hour
resource |
|
Wilson Select Plus -
Full text articles in science, humanities, and business |
24 hour
resource |
|
Virtual Reference Library
- Electronic editions of over 200 encyclopedias and other
reference books for children and adults. May be searched individually or
together. Topics include: Arts, Biography, Business, Education,
Environment, General Reference, History, Information and Publishing,
Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World,
Religion, Science, Social Science. |
24 hour
resource |
|
Who's Who On the Web - Profiles
on 1.2 million individuals from all fields of endeavor including:
government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment,
and sports. (This database supports only one user at a time. Please log
off when done.) |
24 hour
resource |
|
World Atlas
- Reproducible maps plus statistics and data on more
than 200 nations, territories, regions, and continents. Click on
"geography" after the Facts on File logo appears. |
24 hour
resource |
|
World Book Online--Americas and International Editions -
31,000 encyclopedia articles, 6,000 web links, 25,000 periodical
articles, 800 videos, animations, and sounds, 400 interactive maps, 100
3-D bubble views, and much more |
24 hour
resource |
|
WorldCat - Books and other materials in libraries
worldwide. |