you are here: home > research a topic > online databases >
business and company resource center
business and company resource center
Why use this database | Coverage | Using this resource |
Search Tips
- Company and Industry Intelligence
- Investigate career and investment opportunities
- Research perspective employers
- Conduct undergraduate and graduate level research in finance, economics, or marketing
- General Business articles
The Business & Company Resource Center provides highly respected information sources, featuring Thomson Financial content, and including the following sources:
- American Wholesalers and Distributors Directory
- Brands and Their Companies
- Business Rankings Annual
- Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory
- Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.
- Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State, and Local Organizations
- Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations
- Graham and Whiteside Major Company Series
- International Directory of Company Histories
- Notable Corporate Chronologies
- Publishers Directory
- Telecommunications Directory
- Ward’s Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies
- Magazines, journals, newsletters, and other reference sources. A complete list is available in the online
help files and at www.gale.com/titlelists.
- You can print any document from any content area in Business & Company Resource Center using the Format for Printing button on the left side of the page. This allows you to print the
text portion only of the document and not the surrounding icons and title bar.
- You can e-mail yourself any document from any content area in Business & Company Resource Center using the Email Document button on the left side of the page. You may choose to e-mail the
retrieved document in HTML or Plain Text format.
- Be specific. If you’re looking for articles about Dow Chemical, enter both of those words in your search. If you enter just Dow, your search may give you results that discuss the Dow
Jones stock exchange or Dow Corning Inc., in addition to Dow Chemical.
- Use quotations for exact phrases. Generally speaking, each type of search will look for the presence of the word(s) you entered in any combination unless quotation marks are used. Enclosing
your search terms in quotations causes Business & Company Resource Center to search for an exact match.
- Use multiple search terms and criteria. In general, you may search on any combination of search boxes listed on the main search screen, with the exception of the Content Area Search.
- Use search operators and wild cards. Most search boxes allow the use of search operators (AND, OR, NOT, etc.) and wild cards (*, ?, !) to target your search.
- Use plural or other word endings. For example, if you are looking for discussions of outsourcing, you can search for various forms of the word using the OR operator as the connector. For
example, outsource OR outsources OR outsourced OR outsourcing. It is also possible, depending on the desired search term, to use the truncation (or wild card) feature to retrieve multiple forms of a word, for
example, outsourc*.
- Use synonyms for your original words. For example, enter “IT market” or “tech stocks” or “dot-com stock” or “click-and-mortar”.
- Watch the use of special characters. Follow these guidelines when using special characters:
- Don't include special characters in your search term, even if they are part of the company name:
- For example, if you are searching for “Guess?” don’t include the question mark.
- A hyphen (-) used between two words is considered part of the term. If you are searching for a word or phrase that
normally contains a hyphen, include the hyphen: “anti-trust” or “dot-com”.
- Apostrophes (’) are not recognized by the search engine and should be deleted from search terms. Enter Judge Report (instead of Judge’s Report). Ampersands (&) are not recognized by the search engine. Instead, use the W (Within)
proximity operator.
-
A period (.) used between two words is considered part of the term. If you are searching for a word or phrase that normally contains a period, include the period, as in Amazon.com. If you are searching for a name that contains an abbreviation or initials, it is generally best to put spaces around the abbreviated letters, as in L L Bean or L. L. Bean.
For More Information
- Consult Gale's Business & Company Resource Center User’s Guide. The above information is excerpted from this guide.
General information about using Gale products can be found in Getting Started with GaleNet User’s Guide.
top
* Please note: Many of our databases allow remote access only from an authorized user's personal/individual computer from home and not from another
location or institution.
Copyright 2001, (written, graphic and pictorial material) Highland Park Public Library, Highland Park, Illinois. Permission for reproduction of any material
included on this website must be obtained from the Library.
E-mail comments or corrections to hpplweb@nsls.info.