New to the Collection

Title Data for the people : how to make our post-privacy economy work for you

Fri, 01/27/2017 - 7:45am
Title Data for the people :
Author Weigend, Andreas S., author.
Publication Date(s) 2017
Format: Books

Title Why time flies : a mostly scientific investigation

Fri, 01/27/2017 - 7:45am
Title Why time flies :
Author Burdick, Alan, author.
Edition: First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition.
Publication Date(s) 2017
Format: Books
Summary ""Time" is the most commonly used noun in the English language; it's always on our minds and it advances through every living moment. But what is time, exactly? Do children experience it the same way adults do? Why does it seem to slow down when we're bored and speed by as we get older? How and why does time fly? In this witty and meditative exploration, award-winning author and New Yorker staff writer Alan Burdick takes readers on a personal quest to understand how time gets in us and why we perceive it the way we do. In the company of scientists, he visits the most accurate clock in the world (which exists only on paper); discovers that "now" actually happened a split-second ago; finds a twenty-fifth hour in the day; lives in the Arctic to lose all sense of time; and, for one fleeting moment in a neuroscientist's lab, even makes time go backward"--Amazon.com.

Title Always a bridesmaid for hire

Fri, 01/27/2017 - 7:45am
Title Always a bridesmaid for hire
Author Glantz, Jen
Format: Books

Title The girl in the garden

Fri, 01/27/2017 - 7:45am
Title The girl in the garden
Author Wallace, Melanie, 1949-
Publication Date(s) 2017
Format: Books
Summary When June arrives on the coast of New England, baby in arms, an untrustworthy man by her side, Mabel—who rents them a cabin—senses trouble. A few days later, the girl and her child are abandoned...June is soon placed with Mabel’s friend, Iris, in town, and her life becomes entwined with a number of locals who have known one another for decades: a wealthy recluse with a tragic past; a widow in mourning; a forsaken daughter returning for the first time in years, with a stranger in tow; a lawyer, whose longings he can never reveal; and a kindly World War II veteran who serves as the town's sage. Surrounded by the personal histories and secrets of others, June finds the way forward for herself and her son amid revelations of the others' pasts, including loves—and crimes—from years ago.

Title Mulberry moon

Fri, 01/27/2017 - 7:45am
Title Mulberry moon
Author Anderson, Catherine (Adeline Catherine), author.
Publication Date(s) 2017
Series: A Mystic Creek novel
Format: Books
Summary After a career on the rodeo circuit, Ben Sterling longs to settle down on his farm and start a family like his brothers. He’s searched all over for the woman of his dreams. Yet the only one to spark his interest is the new owner of the local café. Getting her attention, however, won’t be easy...Sissy Sue Bentley has worked hard to make it on her own, and she doesn’t need another man in her life. From her alcoholic father to the men she’s dated, who were after only one thing, they are nothing but trouble. Except Ben keeps showing up whenever she really needs help. Sissy struggles to deny her growing feelings for him—but soon Ben’s tender concern has her hoping for a happier future. Then her past comes barreling back into her life, and it will take more than the love in Ben’s heart to hold them together.

Title The happiness effect : how social media is driving a generation to appear perfect at any cost

Fri, 01/27/2017 - 7:45am
Title The happiness effect :
Author Freitas, Donna, author.
Publication Date(s) 2017
Format: Books

Title The murderer's ape

Fri, 01/27/2017 - 7:45am
Title The murderer's ape
Author Wegelius, Jakob.
Edition: First American edition.
Publication Date(s) 2017
Format: Books
Summary When her best friend, the sailor Henry Koskela, is falsely accused of murder, a gorilla named Sally Jones visits the run-down docks of Lisbon, embarks on a dizzying journey across the seven seas, and calls on the Maharaja of Bhapur's magnificent court--all in an attempt to clear Henry's name.

Title The bookshop on the corner

Thu, 01/26/2017 - 10:39am
Title The bookshop on the corner
Author Colgan, Jenny, author.
Edition: Large print edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016-2017
Series: Thorndike Press large print women's fiction
Format: Books
Summary Nina Redmond is a librarian with a gift for finding the perfect book for her readers. But can she write her own happy-ever-after? In this valentine to readers, librarians, and book-lovers the world over, the New York Times-bestselling author of Little Beach Street Bakery returns with a funny, moving new novel for fans of Meg Donohue, Sophie Kinsella, and Nina George's The Little Paris Bookshop. "Losing myself in Jenny Colgan's beautiful pages is the most delicious, comforting, satisfying treat I have had in ages."--Jane Green, New York Times bestselling author of Summer Secrets Nina Redmond is a literary matchmaker. Pairing a reader with that perfect book is her passion... and also her job. Or at least it was. Until yesterday, she was a librarian in the hectic city. But now the job she loved is no more. Determined to make a new life for herself, Nina moves to a sleepy village many miles away. There she buys a van and transforms it into a bookmobile--a mobile bookshop that she drives from neighborhood to neighborhood, changing one life after another with the power of storytelling. From helping her grumpy landlord deliver a lamb, to sharing picnics with a charming train conductor who serenades her with poetry, Nina discovers there's plenty of adventure, magic, and soul in a place that's beginning to feel like home... a place where she just might be able to write her own happy ending.

Title A man for all markets : from Las Vegas to Wall Street, how I beat the dealer and the market

Thu, 01/26/2017 - 10:39am
Title A man for all markets :
Author Thorp, Edward O., author.
Edition: First edition.
Publication Date(s) 2017
Format: Books
Summary Traces the author's experiences as a mathematics wizard, author, inventor, hedge-fund manager, and card-counter who revealed casino-beating strategies, invented the first wearable computer, and launched a Wall Street revolution.

Title CHASING THE KING OF HEARTS

Thu, 01/26/2017 - 10:39am
Title CHASING THE KING OF HEARTS
Author Krall, Hanna, author.
Publication Date(s) 2017
Format: Books
Summary "This canonical work of Polish reportage is a terse, unexpected human lesson born of an occupation-era love story. Based on a true story, the raw interplay of history and fictionalization spans the Warsaw Ghetto, the war-torn countryside, and the nightmare of Auschwitz. This is the book's first US publication. Hanna Krall was born in 1935 in Poland and survived the Holocaust by hiding in a cupboard. She has received numerous Polish and international awards, such as the Polish PEN Club Prize and the GermanWurth Preis for European Literature 2012, and has been translated into seventeen languages"-- Provided by publisher. "When her husband is arrested in Nazi-occupied Poland, Izolda endures the Warsaw Ghetto, Auschwitz, among other trials, to ensure his safety"-- Provided by publisher.

Title ENCIRCLING

Thu, 01/26/2017 - 10:39am
Title ENCIRCLING
Author Tiller, Carl Frode
Format: Books

Title RABBIT CAKE

Thu, 01/26/2017 - 10:39am
Title RABBIT CAKE
Author Hartnett, Annie, author.
Edition: First U.S. edition.
Publication Date(s) 2017
Format: Books

Title What Language Do I Dream In?

Thu, 01/26/2017 - 10:39am
Title What Language Do I Dream In?
Publication Date(s) 2017
Format: Books

Title DANCE OF THE JAKARANDA

Thu, 01/26/2017 - 10:39am
Title DANCE OF THE JAKARANDA
Author Kimani, Peter
Format: Books

Title SONGS OF THE BAKA AND OTHER DISCOVERIES : TRAVELS AFTER SIXTY-FIVE

Thu, 01/26/2017 - 10:39am
Title SONGS OF THE BAKA AND OTHER DISCOVERIES :
Author James, Dennis/ Grossman, Barbara (PHT)
Format: Books

Title THE CROW TRAP

Thu, 01/26/2017 - 10:39am
Title THE CROW TRAP
Author Cleeves, Ann
Format: Books

Title The Year of the Comet.

Thu, 01/26/2017 - 10:39am
Title The Year of the Comet.
Publication Date(s) 2017
Format: Books

Title Ties.

Thu, 01/26/2017 - 10:39am
Title Ties.
Author Starnone, Domenico.
Publication Date(s) 2017
Format: Books

Title The Home That Was Our Country : A Memoir of Syria

Wed, 01/25/2017 - 7:34am
Title The Home That Was Our Country :
Author Malek, Alia
Format: Books

Title Death's mistress : sister of darkness

Wed, 01/25/2017 - 7:34am
Title Death's mistress :
Author Goodkind, Terry, author.
Edition: First U.S. edition.
Publication Date(s) 2017
Format: Books
Summary After years being a defender, the kingdom has stabilized enough for Nicci to set out on new adventures, including keeping Nathan, a prophet, out of trouble.

Pages