New to the Collection

Title Rebel heir

Sat, 08/13/2016 - 12:09pm
Title Rebel heir
Author Michels, Elizabeth
Format: Books

Title Apprentice in death

Sat, 08/13/2016 - 12:09pm
Title Apprentice in death
Author Robb, J. D., 1950- author.
Edition: Large print edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Series: Wheeler Publishing Large Print hardcover
Format: Books

Title Wolf boys : the true story of American teenagers and Mexicos most dangerous drug cartel.

Sat, 08/13/2016 - 12:09pm
Title Wolf boys :
Author Slater, Dan.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title Chasing portraits

Sat, 08/13/2016 - 12:09pm
Title Chasing portraits
Author Rynecki, Elizabeth.
Format: Books

Title The outside lands : a novel

Sat, 08/13/2016 - 12:09pm
Title The outside lands :
Author Kohler, Hannah, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary "San Francisco, 1968: Jeannie and Kip are lost and half-orphaned, their mother dead under mysterious circumstances, and their father - a decorated WWII veteran - consumed by guilt and losing sight of his teenage children. Kip, a dreamer and swaggerer prone to small-time trouble, enlists to fight in Vietnam; Jeannie finds a seemingly safe haven in early marriage and motherhood. But when Kip is accused of a terrible military crime, Jeannie is seduced - sexually, emotionally, politically - into joining an ambiguous anti-war organization. As Jeannie attempts to save her brother, her search for the truth leads her into two dangerous relationships, with a troubled young woman, and a grievously-wounded veteran, that might threaten her marriage, her child, and perhaps her life. An emotionally wrenching and morally complex novel in the vein of Tatjana Soli's The Lotus Eaters and Rachel Kushner's The Flamethrowers, The Outside Lands is a powerful, confident debut."-- Provided by publisher.

Title Woman looking at men looking at women.

Sat, 08/13/2016 - 12:09pm
Title Woman looking at men looking at women.
Author Hustvedt, Siri.
Format: Books

Title The London cookbook : recipes from the restaurants, cafes, and hole-in-the-wall gems of a modern city

Sat, 08/13/2016 - 12:09pm
Title The London cookbook :
Author Crapanzano, Aleksandra, author.
Edition: First edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title Taste of home 100 family meals : bringing the family back to the table.

Sat, 08/13/2016 - 12:09pm
Title Taste of home 100 family meals :
Author Taste of Home Books
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title THE GLOAMING

Sat, 08/13/2016 - 12:09pm
Title THE GLOAMING
Author Finn, Melanie
Format: Books

Title Far from home : a Belladonna Ink novel

Sat, 08/13/2016 - 12:09pm
Title Far from home :
Author Brown, Lorelie, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary My name is Rachel. I'm straight ... I think. I also have a mountain of student loans and a smart mouth. I wasn't serious when I told Pari Sadashiv I'd marry her. It was only party banter! Except Pari needs a green card, and she's willing to give me a breather from drowning in debt. My off-the-cuff idea might not be so terrible. We get along as friends. She's really romantically cautious, which I find heartbreaking. She deserves someone to laugh with. She's kind. And calm. And gorgeous. A couple of years with her actually sounds pretty good. If some of Pari's kindness and calm rubs off on me, that'd be a bonus, because I'm a mess-anorexia is not a pretty word-and my little ways of keeping control of myself, of the world, aren't working anymore. And if I slip up, Pari will see my cracks. Then I'll crack. Which means I gotta get out, quick, before I fall in love with my wife. "

Title Beyond the truth.

Sat, 08/13/2016 - 12:09pm
Title Beyond the truth.
Author Holt, Anne, 1958-
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title All that man is : stories.

Sat, 08/13/2016 - 12:09pm
Title All that man is :
Author Szalay, David.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title The animators : a novel

Sat, 08/13/2016 - 12:09pm
Title The animators :
Author Whitaker, Kayla Rae, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary "In their first year of college, two young women, one from a Florida swamp, the other from a Kentucky holler, both outsiders at their prestigious east coast college, meet in "Introduction to Sketch" and become instant best friends. A decade later, Mel and Sharon's lives remain intertwined, but so much else has changed. Now a semi-famous New York filmmaking duo, they draw upon their own pasts to make intimate animated movies, a process that has left their personal lives--including their friendship--in tatters. When tragedy strikes, Mel and Sharon must return to their home states to confront long-buried secrets and try to restore damaged relationships with their families, lovers, and each other" -- Provided by publisher.

Title THE BRAIN WARRIOR'S WAY COOKBOOK : OVER 100 RECIPES TO IGNITE YOUR ENERGY AND FOCUS, ATTACK ILLNESS AND AGING, TRANSFORM PAIN INTO PURPOSE

Sat, 08/13/2016 - 12:09pm
Title THE BRAIN WARRIOR'S WAY COOKBOOK :
Author Amen, Tana, author.
Edition: First edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary "Eat right to optimize your brain and to fight Alzheimer's, depression, obesity, and a host of other illnesses with the help of New York Times bestselling authors Tana Amen and Daniel Amen, MD. In The Brain Warrior's Way, Tana and Daniel Amen share how to develop MASTERY over brain health to prevent Alzheimer's disease, combat depression, reverse aging, and improve overall health. One of the key components of the plan is diet... In this cookbook, you'll find over 100 simple, delicious recipes that support the principles of the Brain Warrior's Way to heal and optimize the brain--an essential resource for anyone who wants to provide their bodies with the proper fuel to boost energy, focus, memory, and quality of life"-- Provided by publisher.

Title We eat our own : a novel

Sat, 08/13/2016 - 12:09pm
Title We eat our own :
Author Wilson, Kea, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary "An ambitious debut novel by an original young writer, We Eat Our Own blurs the lines between life and art with the story of a film director's unthinkable experiment in the Amazon. When a nameless, struggling actor in 1970s New York gets the call that an enigmatic director wants him for an art film set in the Amazon, he doesn't hesitate: he flies to South America, no questions asked. He quickly realizes he's made a mistake. He's replacing another actor who quit after seeing the script -- a script the director now claims doesn't exist. The movie is over budget. The production team seems headed for a breakdown. The air is so wet that the celluloid film disintegrates. But what the actor doesn't realize is that the greatest threat might be the town itself, and the mysterious shadow economy that powers this remote jungle outpost. Entrepreneurial Americans, international drug traffickers, and M-19 guerillas are all fighting for South America's future--and the groups aren't as distinct as you might think. The actor thought this would be a role that would change his life. Now he's worried if he'll survive it. Inspired by a true story from the annals of 1970s Italian horror film, and told in dazzlingly precise prose, We Eat Our Own is a resounding literary debut, a thrilling journey behind the scenes of a shocking film and a thoughtful commentary on violence and its repercussions"-- Provided by publisher.

Title Every kind of wanting : a novel

Sat, 08/13/2016 - 12:09pm
Title Every kind of wanting :
Author Frangello, Gina, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary "Every Kind of Wanting explores the complex intersection of three unique families and their bustling efforts to have a "Community Baby." Miguel could not be more different from his partner Chad, a happy-go-lucky real estate mogul from Chicago's wealthy North Shore. When Chad's sister, Gretchen offers the couple an egg, their search for a surrogate leads them to Miguel's old friend Emily, happily married to an eccentric Irish playwright, Nick, with whom she is raising two boys. Into this web falls Miguel's sister Lina, a former addict and stripper, who begins a passionate affair with Nick while deciphering the mysteries of her past. But every action these couples make has unforeseen consequences. As Lina faces her long-hidden demons, and the fragile friendships between Miguel and Chad and Nick and Emily begin to fray as the baby's birth draws near, a shocking turn of events-and the secret Lina's been hiding-threaten to break them apart forever. By turns funny, dark and sexy, Every Kind of Wanting strips bare the layers of the American family today. Tackling issues such as assimilation, the legacy of secrets, the morality of desire, and ultimately who "owns" love, the characters-across all ethnicities, nationalities, and sexualities-are blisteringly alive"-- Provided by publisher.

Title The Last wolf & Herman.

Sat, 08/13/2016 - 12:09pm
Title The Last wolf & Herman.
Author Krasznahorkai, László.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title Trainwreck : the women we love to hate, mock, and fear... and why

Sat, 08/13/2016 - 12:09pm
Title Trainwreck :
Author Doyle, Sady, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title Take pride : why the deadliest sin holds the secret to human success

Sat, 08/13/2016 - 12:09pm
Title Take pride :
Author Tracy, Jessica L., author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary "A leading psychologist reveals how our most misunderstood emotion--pride--has shaped our minds and our culture, and shows how we can harness its power. Why did Paul Gauguin abandon middle-class life to follow the path of a starving artist? What inspired Bill Gates to give away so much of his hard-won fortune? How has Donald Trump succeeded so excessively, when his winning style could easily be his greatest liability?As the renowned emotion researcher Jessica Tracy reveals in Take Pride, each of these superachievers has been motivated by an oftenmaligned emotion: pride. Its dark, hubristic side is well known, but Tracy shows that pride is also essential for helping us become our best, brightest selves. By making us care about how others see us and how we see ourselves, pride makes us strive for excellence.In the right doses and the right contexts, it has been proven to boost creativity, motivate altruism, and confer status and power on those who display it. In Take Pride, Tracy explains why we came to feel pride and how we can make this double-edged emotion serve us--rather than the other way around"-- Provided by publisher.

Title THE ARAB OF THE FUTURE 2 : A CHILDHOOD IN THE MIDDLE EAST, 1984-1985: A GRAPHIC MEMOIR

Sat, 08/13/2016 - 12:09pm
Title THE ARAB OF THE FUTURE 2 :
Author Sattouf, Riad
Format: Books

Pages