Feed aggregator

Title ARARAT

New to the Collection - Tue, 03/21/2017 - 8:15am
Title ARARAT
Author Golden, Christopher
Format: Books

Title MURDER IS FOR KEEPS

New to the Collection - Tue, 03/21/2017 - 8:15am
Title MURDER IS FOR KEEPS
Author Duncan, Elizabeth J.
Format: Books

Title WHAT'S BECOME OF HER : a novel

New to the Collection - Tue, 03/21/2017 - 8:15am
Title WHAT'S BECOME OF HER :
Author Caletti, Deb, author.
Publication Date(s) 2017
Format: Books
Summary "From National Book Award finalist Deb Caletti comes an emotionally riveting story of a woman falling for a man who may be hiding a dangerous secret--perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah. "Guilty people keep secrets." Isabelle Austenreturns to her hometown on a small, isolated Pacific Northwest island to take over the family tourism business after the death of her mother, a disapproving parent and a hard woman to love. Feeling lost, Isabelle is also struggling with a recent divorce,and wondering if she'll ever come into her own. Then Isabelle's life takes a surprising turn. A mysterious man named Henry North arrives on Parrish Island, steps off a seaplane, and changes Isabelle's world forever. From the beginning, their relationshipis heady and intense--until Isabelle learns of Henry's disturbing past involving the death of a fiance and the disappearance of a wife. Suddenly, Isabelle is caught between love and suspicion, paranoia and passion, as she searches for the truth she may not want to find--and is swept into a dangerous game from which she may not survive. Praise for the novels of Deb Caletti "Striking. well-written, strongly characterized and emotionally complex fiction."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review), on He's Gone"Caletti once again combines interesting characters, pitch-perfect dialogue, and an intriguing plot to tell a deeply memorable story. Her latest is a thoughtful exploration of love and marriage and the power of family and friendship to help along the way."--Booklist, on The Secrets She Keeps"-- Provided by publisher. "A woman must make a difficult choice when she discovers her love interest's two reasons for escaping to her small island: the death of one wife and the disappearance of another. Isabelle is caught between love and suspicion as she searches for the truthand receives assistance from a mysterious and unknown source, even as that help might arrive too late"-- Provided by publisher.

Title The book of hygge : the Danish art of contentment, comfort, and connection

New to the Collection - Tue, 03/21/2017 - 8:15am
Title The book of hygge :
Author Brits, Louisa Thomsen, author.
Publication Date(s) 2017
Format: Books
Summary "The centuries-old Danish tradition of Hygge (pronounced "hoo-gah") comes from a country voted to be the happiest on earth, and its special custom of emotional warmth, slowness, and appreciation, is becoming increasingly familiar to an international audience. To hygge means to enjoy the good things in life with good people"-- Provided by publisher.

Title Hunted

New to the Collection - Tue, 03/21/2017 - 8:15am
Title Hunted
Author Spooner, Meagan, author.
Edition: First edition.
Publication Date(s) 2017
Format: Books
Summary Follows the experiences of an aristocrat's daughter, Yeva, who tracks a mysterious woodland creature her father has become obsessed with and that stands at the center of his failing sanity.

Title Fresh from the garden : an organic guide to growing vegetables, berries, and herbs in cold climates

New to the Collection - Tue, 03/21/2017 - 8:15am
Title Fresh from the garden :
Author Whitman, John, 1944- author.
Publication Date(s) 2017
Format: Books

Title Eggshells : a novel

New to the Collection - Tue, 03/21/2017 - 8:15am
Title Eggshells :
Author Lally, Caitriona, author.
Publication Date(s) 2017, 2015
Format: Books
Summary Vivian doesn't feel like she fits in - and never has. As a child, she was so whimsical that her parents told her she was "left by fairies." Now, living alone in Dublin, the neighbors treat her like she's crazy, her older sister condescends to her, social workers seem to have registered her as troubled, and she hasn't a friend in the world...So, she decides it's time to change her life: She begins by advertising for a friend. Not just any friend. She wants one named Penelope...Meanwhile, she roams the city, mapping out a new neighborhood every day, seeking her escape route to a better world, the other world her parents told her she came from...And then one day someone named Penelope answers her ad for a friend. And from that moment on, Vivian's life begins to change.

Title OCTOBER : The Story of the Russian Revolution

New to the Collection - Tue, 03/21/2017 - 8:15am
Title OCTOBER :
Author Mieville, China
Format: Books

Title Where dead men meet

New to the Collection - Tue, 03/21/2017 - 8:15am
Title Where dead men meet
Author Mills, Mark
Format: Books

Title Your brain is a time machine : the neuroscience and physics of time

New to the Collection - Tue, 03/21/2017 - 8:15am
Title Your brain is a time machine :
Author Buonomano, Dean.
Edition: First edition.
Publication Date(s) 2017
Format: Books

Title Down and out in the new economy : how people find (or don't find) work today

New to the Collection - Tue, 03/21/2017 - 8:15am
Title Down and out in the new economy :
Author Gershon, Ilana, author.
Publication Date(s) 2017
Format: Books

Title Veganize it! : easy DIY recipes for a plant-based kitchen

New to the Collection - Tue, 03/21/2017 - 8:15am
Title Veganize it! :
Author Robertson, Robin (Robin G.), author.
Publication Date(s) 2017
Format: Books
Summary Provides vegan staple recipes, including tempeh bacon, tofu feta, and vegan butter to make main dishes, sides, beverages, and desserts.

Title Look behind you.

New to the Collection - Tue, 03/21/2017 - 8:15am
Title Look behind you.
Author Johansen, Iris.
Format: Books

Title Robert Lowell, setting the river on fire : a study of genius, mania, and character

New Enterprise feed - Tue, 03/21/2017 - 8:15am
Title Robert Lowell, setting the river on fire :
Author Jamison, Kay R., author.
Edition: First edition.
Publication Date(s) 2017
Format: Books
Summary "The best-selling author of An Unquiet Mind now gives us a groundbreaking life of one of the major American poets of the twentieth century that is at the same time a fascinating study of the relationship between manic-depressive (bipolar) illness, creative genius, and character. In his Pulitzer Prize-winning poetry, Robert Lowell (1917-1977) put his manic-depressive illness into the public domain. Now Dr. Kay Redfield Jamison brings her expertise to bear on his story, illuminating the relationship between bipolar illness and creativity, and examining how Lowell's illness and the treatment he received came to bear on his work. His New England roots, early breakdowns, marriages to three eminent writers, friendships with other poets, vivid presence as a teacher and writer refusing to give up in the face of mental illness--Jamison gives us Lowell's life through a lens that focuses our understanding of the poet's intense discipline, courage, and commitment to his art. Jamison had unprecedented access to Lowell's medical records, as well as to previously unpublished drafts and fragments of poems, and was the first biographer to speak to his daughter. With this new material and a psychologist's deep insight, Jamison delivers a bold, sympathetic account of a poet who was--both despite and because of mental illness--a passionate, original observer of the human condition"-- Provided by publisher.

Title Café Neandertal : excavating our past in one of Europe's most ancient places

New Enterprise feed - Tue, 03/21/2017 - 8:15am
Title Café Neandertal :
Author Bahrami, Beebe, author.
Publication Date(s) 2017
Format: Books
Summary "Centered in the Dordogne region of southwestern France, one of Europe's most concentrated regions for Neandertal and early modern human occupations, writer Beebe Bahrami follows and participates in the work of archaeologists who are doing some of the most comprehensive and global work to date on the research, exploration, and recovery of our ancient ancestors. She follows this compelling riddle along a path populated with colorful local personalities and opinionated, polemical, and brilliant archaeologists working in remote and fascinating places across Eurasia, all the while maintaining a firm foothold in the Dordogne, a region celebrated by the local tourist office as a vacation destination for 400,000 years. From this prehistoric perch Bahrami gets to know first-hand the Neandertals and the people who love them--those who have devoted their lives to them."--Provided by publisher.

Title Get the most out of retirement : checklist for happiness, health, purpose, and financial security

New Enterprise feed - Tue, 03/21/2017 - 8:15am
Title Get the most out of retirement :
Author Hurme, Sally Balch, author.
Publication Date(s) 2017
Format: Books

Title Nonprofit kit for dummies

New Enterprise feed - Tue, 03/21/2017 - 8:15am
Title Nonprofit kit for dummies
Author Hutton, Stan, author.
Edition: Fifth edition.
Publication Date(s) 2017
Series: --For dummies
Format: Books
Summary Offers advice on starting and running a nonprofit organization, including tips on recruiting paid and volunteer staff, raising money, and writing tax reports.

Title Grace notes

New Enterprise feed - Tue, 03/21/2017 - 8:15am
Title Grace notes
Author Sagal, Katey, author.
Edition: First Gallery books hardcover edition.
Publication Date(s) 2017
Format: Books

Title Nevertheless.

New Enterprise feed - Tue, 03/21/2017 - 8:15am
Title Nevertheless.
Author Baldwin, Alec, 1958-
Edition: Large print
Publication Date(s) 2017
Format: Books

Title DOMINA.

New Enterprise feed - Tue, 03/21/2017 - 8:15am
Title DOMINA.
Author Hilton, L. S., 1974-
Publication Date(s) 2017
Format: Books

Pages