Feed aggregator

Title Her nightly embrace

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title Her nightly embrace
Author Tantimedh, Adi, author.
Edition: First Leopoldo & Co/Atria books hardcover edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Series: The Ravi PI series ; book 1
Format: Books
Summary "The first in a trilogy of whipsmart novels--soon to be a BBC TV series--about a destructive, British-born Indian private investigator, and his ragtag team of eccentric coworkers, who handles high-profile cases so undercover that they never make the headlines--perfect for fans of Sherlock, Castle, and Scandal"-- Provided by publisher.

Title I'm 93. Why am I still alive?

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title I'm 93. Why am I still alive?
Author Mayer, Alan, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary "Asking when life should be over, [the book is] a compilation of true mishaps and health situations that should have or could have shortened [Mayer's] life, but for reasons unknown, did not"--Page 4 of cover.

Title The coveteur : private spaces, personal style

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title The coveteur :
Author Mark, Stephanie, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary "The Coveteur, one of fashion's leading websites, has garnered a fervent following for its portraiture, profiles, and beautiful photographic excavations of the private spaces of the industry's most notable individuals. In its first book, more than forty people--including Karlie Kloss, Tavi Gevinson, Christian Louboutin, Dita Von Teese, Rosie Huntington-Whiteley, Tommy Hilfiger, Bobbi Brown, and Carolyn Murphy--open their doors and reveal all of their favorite things in their own rarely seen surroundings. Through a scintillating mix of fashion, interiors, and voyeurism, The Coveteur examines the creative process and inspirations of those who are defining style for our time"--Page 4 of cover.

Title Lincoln's greatest journey : sixteen days that changed a presidency, March 24-April 8, 1865

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title Lincoln's greatest journey :
Author Trudeau, Noah Andre, 1949- author.
Edition: First edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary "Lincoln traveled to City Point, Virginia, in late March 1865 to escape the constant interruptions in the nation's capital that were carrying off a portion of his 'vitality,' and to make his personal amends for having presided over the most destructive war in American history in order to save the nation. Lincoln returned to Washington sixteen days later with a renewed sense of purpose, urgency, and direction that would fundamentally shape his second term agenda ... Lincoln's Greatest Journey represents the most extensively researched and detailed story of these decisive sixteen days at City Point in a narrative laden with many heretofore unpublished accounts"--From publisher description.

Title Mrs. Sherlock Holmes : the true story of New York's City's greatest female detective and the 1917 missing girl case that captivated a nation

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title Mrs. Sherlock Holmes :
Author Ricca, Brad, author.
Edition: First Edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title Colored travelers : mobility and the fight for citizenship before the Civil War

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title Colored travelers :
Author Pryor, Elizabeth Stordeur, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Series: The John Hope Franklin series in African American history and culture
Format: Books
Summary "Americans have long regarded the freedom of travel a central tenet of citizenship. Yet, in the United States, freedom of movement has historically been a right reserved for whites. In this book, Elizabeth Stordeur Pryor shows that African Americans fought obstructions to their mobility over 100 years before Rosa Parks refused to give up her seat on a Montgomery bus. These were "colored travelers," activists who relied on steamships, stagecoaches, and railroads to expand their networks and to fight slavery and racism. This book tells the story of how the basic act of traveling emerged as a front line in the battle for African American equal rights before the Civil War"-- Provided by publisher.

Title Men and style

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title Men and style
Author Coggins, David, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary "In Men and Style, David Coggins explores how men dress and why. He interviews some of the world's most dapper men and leading tastemakers, who discuss lessons they learned from their fathers, mistakes they made and how they became better men. They consider a range of topics including bad beards, misguided cologne and unfortunate prom tuxedos. These stylish men examine their lives and experience with wit, verve and surprising candor as they reflect on Playboy, school uniforms or dive bars. An essential, off-the-cuff look at singular men who have lived well, Men and Style celebrates male icons who have something to tell us about how their worldviews have been styled--and how they've styled themselves in turn"--Page 4 of cover.

Title I, me, mine.

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title I, me, mine.
Author Harrison, George.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title Death notes : a Phineas Fox mystery

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title Death notes :
Author Rayne, Sarah, author.
Edition: First world edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary Phineas Fox has mixed feelings when he's asked to research the infamous 19th-century violinist Roman Volf for a TV documentary. Hanged for his part in the assassination of Tsar Alexander II in 1881, Volf was a notorious criminal and womaniser, whose glittering talent was undermined by his scandalous private life. However, on uncovering evidence which suggests that Volf could not have been involved in the Tsar's murder, Phin's investigations lead him to the west coast of Ireland - and a series of intriguing, interlocking mysteries reaching from 1881 to the present day...Was Roman Volf executed for something he didn't do? And what is his connection with the reclusive Maxim Volf now living in County Galway? Phin's enquiries will unearth a number of dark secrets which lurk below the surface of the quiet Irish village of Kilcarne.

Title Mini knitted ocean : woolly whales, dolphins and other nautical knits

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title Mini knitted ocean :
Author Ishii, Sachiyo, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title Nasty cutter

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title Nasty cutter
Author O'Mara, Tim, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Series: Raymond Donne mysteries ; 4
Format: Books
Summary When his father's former law partner, Marty Stover, is murdered, ex-cop turned schoolteacher Raymond Donne fights his old police instincts and vows not to interfere. Then a family of one of his students gets dangerously close to the investigation...Has a decades-old case of his father's come back to haunt the Donne and Stover families?

Title His final battle : the last months of Franklin Roosevelt

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title His final battle :
Author Lelyveld, Joseph, author.
Edition: Large print edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title Berlin for Jews : a twenty-first-century companion

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title Berlin for Jews :
Author Barkan, Leonard, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title When America liked Ike : how moderates won the 1952 presidential election and reshaped American politics

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title When America liked Ike :
Author Donaldson, Gary, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary "In this book, Gary Donaldson argues that the 1952 presidential election, which exposed deep internal divisions on the left and the right, set the stage for the current U.S. political landscape. This book will prove an invaluable resource to readers, students, and scholars interested in rooting out the origins of our contemporary political landscape, on the right and the left"-- Provided by publisher.

Title The art of Beatrix Potter :

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title The art of Beatrix Potter :
Author Zach, Emily, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title The politics of resentment : rural consciousness in Wisconsin and the rise of Scott Walker

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title The politics of resentment :
Author Cramer, Katherine J. (Katherine Jean), author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Series: Chicago studies in American politics
Format: Books
Summary "Since the election of Scott Walker, Wisconsin has been seen as ground zero for debates about the appropriate role of government in the wake of the Great Recession. In a time of rising inequality, Walker not only survived a bitterly contested recall that brought thousands of protesters to Capitol Square, he was subsequently reelected. How could this happen? How is it that the very people who stand to benefit from strong government services not only vote against the candidates who support those services but are vehemently against the very idea of big government?"--Amazon.com.

Title 100 plants to feed the bees : provide a healthy habitat to help pollinators thrive

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title 100 plants to feed the bees :
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title Octavia E. Butler

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title Octavia E. Butler
Author Canavan, Gerry, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Series: Modern Masters of Science Fiction
Format: Books

Title Rick Steves best of England.

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title Rick Steves best of England.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Continuing Resources

Title Israel & the West Bank

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title Israel & the West Bank
Author Belmaker, Genevieve, author.
Edition: 1st edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Series: Trip of a lifetime
Format: Books

Pages