Feed aggregator

Title Rhythm & clues

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title Rhythm & clues
Author Jaffarian, Sue Ann, 1952- author.
Edition: First edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Series: An Odelia Grey mystery
Format: Books
Summary It's a rockin' flashback for Odelia Grey when her mother asks her to look into the disappearance of her neighbor Bo Shank, the former lead singer for a band Odelia idolized in her youth. But when a body is found in Bo Shank's house, everything quickly gets thrown out of tune.

Title I loved her in the movies : memories of Hollywood's legendary actresses

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title I loved her in the movies :
Author Wagner, Robert, 1930- author.
Edition: Large print edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Series: Thorndike Press large print biographies and memoirs
Format: Books

Title Bitten by witch fever. Wallpaper & arsenic in the Victorian home.

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title Bitten by witch fever. Wallpaper & arsenic in the Victorian home.
Author Hawksley, Lucinda, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary Beautiful to look at and compelling to read, this book is a highly original and captivating volume that interleaves facsimile sections of alluring, arsenic-laden wallpapers with thought-provoking narrative. It is tracing the arresting story of the use and effects of the toxic pigments ingrained in popular wallpapers of the nineteenth century. Hawksley presents the history of Scheele's green and schweinfurt green, pigments created using arsenic, which produced the vibrant shades whose brilliance made them instant favourites with wallpaper designers and householders alike. With the aid of contemporary case studies and reports in the press, she reveals how, by the middle of the century, manufacturers were producing millions of rolls of arsenical wallpaper, with devastating consequences for those working in their factories and for those living in rooms decorated with the deadly designs. The wallpaper sections display dazzling long- lost work from the great designers and printers of the age, including Christopher Dresser, Corbiere, Son & Brindle, Charles Knowles & Co. and Morris & Co.- whose owner was famously dismissive of the fatal effects of living with arsenic-filled wallpapers.

Title The unnatural world : the race to remake civilization in Earth's newest age

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title The unnatural world :
Author Biello, David, author.
Edition: First Scribner hardcover edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title Cheap novelties : the pleasures of urban decay, with Julius Knipl, real estate photographer

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title Cheap novelties :
Author Katchor, Ben, author, artist.
Edition: First Drawn & Quarterly edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary Cheap Novelties is an early testament to Ben Katchor's extraordinary prescience as both a gifted cartoonist and an astute urban chronicler. Rumpled, middle-aged Julius Knipl photographs a vanishing city--an urban landscape of low-rent apartment buildings, obsolete industries, monuments to forgotten people and events, and countless sources of inexpensive food. In Katchor's signature pen and ink wash style, Cheap Novelties is a portrait of what we have lost to gentrification, globalization, and the malling of America that is as moving today as it was twenty-five years ago.In 1991, the original Cheap Novelties appeared in an unassuming paperback from the RAW contributor; it would become one of the first books of the contemporary graphic novel golden age, and it set the stage for Katchor to become regarded as a modern-day cartooning genius. Drawn & Quarterly's twenty-fifth anniversary edition is a deluxe hardcover.

Title Dragon age. 1, Magekiller

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title Dragon age. 1, Magekiller
Author Rucka, Greg, author.
Edition: First trade paperback edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary "Tessa and Marius are mercenary partners united by an unbreakable bond and compelled to eliminate those who use magic to hurt others"-- Provided by publisher.

Title The Metabaron. Book 1, The techno-admiral & the anti-baron

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title The Metabaron. Book 1, The techno-admiral & the anti-baron
Author Jodorowsky, Alejandro, writer.
Edition: [U.S. edition]
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary "The Metabaron once single-handedly brought the Techno-Techno Empire to its knees. But in the chaos that followed, a new regime within the Techno-Techno civilization has rebuilt by seizing control of the galaxy's most precious fuel, the Epiphyte. When this tyrannical new force learns that the Metabaron is back and headed towards Marmola, the only known source of Epiphyte, the Empire dispatches its most trusted servant: the notoriously invulnerable and cruel Wilhelm-100, The Techno-Admiral. Can the Metabaron save the universe once more, or has he finally met his match?"--Publisher website.

Title 111 places in Los Angeles that you must not miss

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title 111 places in Los Angeles that you must not miss
Author Moglen, Laurel, author.
Edition: First edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary Enjoy a cocktail inside a whiskey barrel. Visit a museum dedicated to heartbreak. Take a selfie with a polar bear. Shop for gifts at the county morgue. Climb a stairway to the stars. Wander off the beaten path to experience Los Angeles's most uncommon and beguiling places.

Title The Amsterdam city guide : your little black book

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title The Amsterdam city guide :
Author Buck, Anne de, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary "Yourlittleblackbook.me is the go-to website for food lovers and anyone who delights in discovering unique spots. Lifestyle and travel blogger Anne de Buck created the blog in 2012 as a way to share her personal tips about Amsterdam. Though she now travels the world writing city guides, Amsterdam remains her most beloved city. Anne inspires thousands of her followers each day to discover the nicest hotspots. In The Amsterdam City Guide she shares her favourite addresses off the beaten track. These include the best coffee bars, concept stores and restaurants, and a bucket list of fun things to do."--Page 4 of cover.

Title Cologne : with more than 200 tips on restaurants, bars and activities

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title Cologne :
Author Geile, Frank, 1964- author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title Secret Istanbul

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title Secret Istanbul
Author Öktem, Emre, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title OVERVIEW : A NEW PERSPECTIVE OF EARTH

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title OVERVIEW :
Author Grant, Benjamin, author, photographer.
Edition: First American edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title Cartagena & Colombia's Caribbean coast

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title Cartagena & Colombia's Caribbean coast
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Continuing Resources

Title Bologna.

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title Bologna.
Publication Date(s) 2006-2016
Series: Insight pocket guide
Format: Continuing Resources

Title Her nightly embrace

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title Her nightly embrace
Author Tantimedh, Adi, author.
Edition: First Leopoldo & Co/Atria books hardcover edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Series: The Ravi PI series ; book 1
Format: Books
Summary "The first in a trilogy of whipsmart novels--soon to be a BBC TV series--about a destructive, British-born Indian private investigator, and his ragtag team of eccentric coworkers, who handles high-profile cases so undercover that they never make the headlines--perfect for fans of Sherlock, Castle, and Scandal"-- Provided by publisher.

Title I'm 93. Why am I still alive?

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title I'm 93. Why am I still alive?
Author Mayer, Alan, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary "Asking when life should be over, [the book is] a compilation of true mishaps and health situations that should have or could have shortened [Mayer's] life, but for reasons unknown, did not"--Page 4 of cover.

Title The coveteur : private spaces, personal style

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title The coveteur :
Author Mark, Stephanie, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary "The Coveteur, one of fashion's leading websites, has garnered a fervent following for its portraiture, profiles, and beautiful photographic excavations of the private spaces of the industry's most notable individuals. In its first book, more than forty people--including Karlie Kloss, Tavi Gevinson, Christian Louboutin, Dita Von Teese, Rosie Huntington-Whiteley, Tommy Hilfiger, Bobbi Brown, and Carolyn Murphy--open their doors and reveal all of their favorite things in their own rarely seen surroundings. Through a scintillating mix of fashion, interiors, and voyeurism, The Coveteur examines the creative process and inspirations of those who are defining style for our time"--Page 4 of cover.

Title Lincoln's greatest journey : sixteen days that changed a presidency, March 24-April 8, 1865

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title Lincoln's greatest journey :
Author Trudeau, Noah Andre, 1949- author.
Edition: First edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books
Summary "Lincoln traveled to City Point, Virginia, in late March 1865 to escape the constant interruptions in the nation's capital that were carrying off a portion of his 'vitality,' and to make his personal amends for having presided over the most destructive war in American history in order to save the nation. Lincoln returned to Washington sixteen days later with a renewed sense of purpose, urgency, and direction that would fundamentally shape his second term agenda ... Lincoln's Greatest Journey represents the most extensively researched and detailed story of these decisive sixteen days at City Point in a narrative laden with many heretofore unpublished accounts"--From publisher description.

Title Mrs. Sherlock Holmes : the true story of New York's City's greatest female detective and the 1917 missing girl case that captivated a nation

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title Mrs. Sherlock Holmes :
Author Ricca, Brad, author.
Edition: First Edition.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Format: Books

Title Colored travelers : mobility and the fight for citizenship before the Civil War

New to the Collection - Thu, 12/01/2016 - 7:39am
Title Colored travelers :
Author Pryor, Elizabeth Stordeur, author.
Publication Date(s) 2016
Series: The John Hope Franklin series in African American history and culture
Format: Books
Summary "Americans have long regarded the freedom of travel a central tenet of citizenship. Yet, in the United States, freedom of movement has historically been a right reserved for whites. In this book, Elizabeth Stordeur Pryor shows that African Americans fought obstructions to their mobility over 100 years before Rosa Parks refused to give up her seat on a Montgomery bus. These were "colored travelers," activists who relied on steamships, stagecoaches, and railroads to expand their networks and to fight slavery and racism. This book tells the story of how the basic act of traveling emerged as a front line in the battle for African American equal rights before the Civil War"-- Provided by publisher.

Pages