Subject Guide for Education

Databases

Brainfuse HelpNow

Live tutoring, virtual study rooms, diagnostic test center and more. Tutors are available every day from 2:00 PM to 11:00 PM CST.

ERIC

Index of journal articles and reports in education. Some full-text.

Gale Courses

Gale Courses deliver hundreds of engaging, instructor-led online courses focused on professional development, technology skills, and personal enrichment to transform lives and foster positive changes in your community.

lynda.com

Video tutorials on software, web design, business/management skills, financial literacy, job/career skills, social networking, etc. Includes Microsoft Office, Windows, and Mac OS. You will be asked to create a LyndaLibrary account, which will allow you to track your progress through your tutorials.

Weblinks

e-learning

Babbel 

Discover a new language experience.

BaseRails

Master Ruby on Rails and other web technologies.

Busuu

The free language learning community.

Code School 

Learn to code by doing.

Code.org 

Start learning today with easy tutorials.

Codecademy

  Learn to code interactively, for free.

Coursera

Take the world’s best courses, online, for free.

Coursmos

Take a micro-course anytime you want, on any device.

CreativeLive 

Take free creative classes from the world’s top experts.

Cuirous

Grow your skills with online video lessons.

Dash

Learn to make websites.

DataCamp 

Online R tutorials and data science courses.

DataMonkey

Develop your analytical skills in a simple, yet fun way.

DataQuest 

Learn data science in your browser.

Duolingo 

Learn a language for free.

edX 

Take online courses from the world’s best universities.

Free Learning Tools - Varsity Tutors

Free online practice for standardized tests such as Common Core, GED, AP, ACT, SAT, LSAT, MCAT and more.

Guides.co 

Search the largest collection of online guides.

Highbrow

Get bite-sized daily courses to your inbox.

Khan Academy

Access an extensive library of interactive content.

Learnable 

The best way to learn web development.

Learnist 

Learn from expertly curated web, print and video content.

Lingvist 

Learn a language in 200 hours.

Memrise 

Use flashcards to learn vocabulary.

Niche Academy

Short video tutorials for learning how to use eBooks, audio books, electronic magazines, databases, and more.

One Month

Learn to code and build web applications in one month.

Platzi

Live streaming classes on design, marketing and code.

Skillshare

Online classes and projects that unlock your creativity.

Squareknot 

Browse beautiful, step-by-step guides.

Stuk.io

Learn how to code from scratch.

TED-Ed

Find carefully curated educational videos

Thinkful

Advance your career with 1-on-1 mentorship.

Treehouse

Learn HTML, CSS, iPhone apps & more.

Udacity 

Earn a Nanodegree recognized by industry leaders.

Udemy

Learn real world skills online.

Education

Free Learning Tools - Varsity Tutors

Free online practice for standardized tests such as Common Core, GED, AP, ACT, SAT, LSAT, MCAT and more.

Library U

A series of classes designed for adults that are held at the library. 

General

Child Care and Early Education Research

An enormous collection of data and research covering child care and early education; includes data sets, policy resources and select full text.

Chronicle of Higher Education
Educator's Reference Desk

A new name and new service from the creators of Ask Eric.

Internship Programs
Open Culture

Curated selection of free cultural & educational media.

Private Business and Vocational Schools Directory of Approved Schools

A pdf from the Illinois Board of Higher Education with a listing of private business and vocational schools with programs approved to operate in Illinois.

Homework Helpers

Free Learning Tools - Varsity Tutors

Free online practice for standardized tests such as Common Core, GED, AP, ACT, SAT, LSAT, MCAT and more.

Learning Disabilities

LD OnLine

Resource for parents and teachers of learning-disabled children.

National Center for Learning Disabilities

Resources for adults and children with learning disabilities

Statistics

Child Care and Early Education Research Connections
National Center for Education Statistics

The latest education statistics, 1400 NCES publications, and the Encyclopedia of Education Statistics.

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization

Assessments of the basic educational systems for over 180 countries.

Writing

Free Learning Tools - Varsity Tutors

Free online practice for standardized tests such as Common Core, GED, AP, ACT, SAT, LSAT, MCAT and more.