Subject Guide for General Reference Sources

Weblinks

Encyclopedias and Almanacs

Encyclopedia.com

Get free articles drawn from the Britannica Concise Encyclopedia, the Oxford Dictionaries, and millions of periodical articles.

Fact-Check Websites for Emails & Posts

Dead or Alive?

A list of famous people who have recently died or enter a name to check the person's status.

FactCheck.org

Monitoring the factual accuracy of what is said by U.S. political players in TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.

Hoax-Slayer

The latest internet scams and hoaxes

Hoaxy

Track the spread of claims and fact checking visually.

How to Use Google’s Reverse Image Search to Spot Fake News

Simple instructions and video

PolitiFact

Find out which politicians and pundits are telling the truth, which ones are stretching it, and which ones are making statements they rate as Pants on Fire.

Snopes.com

Internet reference source for urban legends, folklore, myths, rumors, and misinformation.

ThatsFake.com

Debunking fake news

ThatsNonsense.com

Fact checking viral web posts

Truth Or Fiction

Information about the latest and most popular e-rumors.

Urban Legends

The latest urban legends, viral photos and videos analyzed.

Washington Post Fact Checker

Checking the statements of political figures regarding issues of importance, be they national, international or local.

General Political Information

FactCheck.org

Monitoring the factual accuracy of what is said by U.S. political players in TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.

PolitiFact

Find out which politicians and pundits are telling the truth, which ones are stretching it, and which ones are making statements they rate as Pants on Fire.

Washington Post Fact Checker

Checking the statements of political figures regarding issues of importance, be they national, international or local.

General Reference Sources

Bartleby.com

Bartleby.com publishes thousands of free online classic books including reference, literature, poetry and nonfiction.

Dead or Alive?

A list of famous people who have recently died or enter a name to check the person's status.

Dictionary.com

Featuring a variety of tools including thesauri, translator, and writing resources.

Encyclopedia.com

Get free articles drawn from the Britannica Concise Encyclopedia, the Oxford Dictionaries, and millions of periodical articles.

FactCheck.org

Monitoring the factual accuracy of what is said by U.S. political players in TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.

Federal Citizen Information Center en Español

Topics include: children, education, employment, environment, federal services, food and nutrition, health, housing, money,safety, small business, and consumer assistance.

Geohive

Geohive is a popular online resource for finding population statistics of all kinds.

Hoax-Slayer

The latest internet scams and hoaxes

Hoaxy

Track the spread of claims and fact checking visually.

How to Use Google’s Reverse Image Search to Spot Fake News

Simple instructions and video

Information Please Almanac

Wide array of general reference tools and sources including dictionary, thesaurus, encyclopedia, atlas, spell checker, conversion tools and homework help.

Internet Public Libary

In January 2010, this was launched, merging the collections of resources from the Internet Public Library (IPL) and the Librarians' Internet Index (LII) websites. This collection of web resources has been developed over many years by students and librarians.

PolitiFact

Find out which politicians and pundits are telling the truth, which ones are stretching it, and which ones are making statements they rate as Pants on Fire.

Snopes.com

Internet reference source for urban legends, folklore, myths, rumors, and misinformation.

ThatsFake.com

Debunking fake news

ThatsNonsense.com

Fact checking viral web posts

Truth Or Fiction

Information about the latest and most popular e-rumors.

Urban Legends

The latest urban legends, viral photos and videos analyzed.

Washington Post Fact Checker

Checking the statements of political figures regarding issues of importance, be they national, international or local.

Homework Helpers

Dictionary.com

Featuring a variety of tools including thesauri, translator, and writing resources.

Zip Code Directories

City Zip Code Finder

Use this post office link to find a zip code for a particular city, or the city that matches a particular zip code.

Zip +4 Code Lookup

Use this link to find a zip+4 by entering a specific address.