Rebecca Caudill Young Readers' Book Award

The Rebecca Caudill Young Readers’ Book Award is an annual award given to the author of the book voted most outstanding by students in grades four through eight in participating Illinois schools.   The award is named in honor of Rebecca Caudill who lived and wrote in Urbana, Illinois, for nearly 50 years.

Winners | Nominees


1988 Banks, Lynne Reid The Indian in the Cupboard.
1989 Wright, Betty Ren The Dollhouse Murders.
1990 Hahn, Mary Downing Wait Till Helen Comes: A Ghost Story.
1991 Dahl, Roald Matilda.
1992 Lowry, Lois Number the Stars.
1993 Spinelli, Jerry Maniac Magee: A Novel.
1994 Naylor, Phyllis Reynolds Shiloh.
1995 Cooney, Caroline Flight #116 is Down.
1996 Lowry, Lois The Giver.
1997 Robinson, Barbara The Best [Worst] School Year Ever.
1998 Park, Barbara Mick Harte Was Here.
1999 Clements, Andrew Frindle.
2000 Levine, Gail Carson Ella Enchanted.
2001 Rowling, J.K. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone.
2002 Sachar, Louis Holes.
2003 Anderson, Laurie Halse Fever, 1793.
2004 Horowitz, Anthony Stormbreaker.
2005 Hiaasen, Carl Hoot.
2006 Paolini, Christopher Eragon.
2007 Weeks, Sarah So B. It: A Novel.
2008 Sonnenblick, Jordan Drums, Girls & Dangerous Pie.
2009 Riordan, Rick The Lightning Thief.
2010 Hahn, Mary Downing All the Lovely Bad Ones: A Ghost Story.
2011 Collins, Suzanne The Hunger Games.
2012 Cody, Matthew Powerless.
2013 Telgemeier, Raina Smile.
2014 Palacio, R.J. Wonder.
2015 Lu, Marie Legend.

2016 Nominees

Cavanaugh, Nancy This Journal Belongs to Ratchet
Cody, Matthew Will in Scarlet.
Engle, Margarita Mountain Dog.
Evans, Richard Paul Michael Vey: The Prisoner of Cell 25.
Frost, Helen Hidden.
Hiaasen, Carl Chomp.
Hopkinson, Deborah Titanic: Voices from the Disaster.
Knowles, Johanna See You at Harry's.
Magoon, Kekla Camo Girl.
Meyer, Marissa Cinder.
Ness, Patrick A Monster Calls.
Preus, Margi Shadow on the Mountain.
Rose, Caroline Starr May B.: A Novel
Sanderson, Brandon The Rithmatist.
Sheinkin, Steven Lincoln's Grave Robbers.
Shurtliff, Liesl Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin.
Sloan, Holly Goldberg Counting by 7s.
Sullivan, Tara Golden Boy
Swanson, James L. "The President Has Been Shot!": The Assassination of John F. Kennedy.
Turnage, Sheila Three Times Lucky.