The Monarch Award

The Monarch Award is given annually (beginning in 2005) to an author and/or illustrator of a book voted as their favorite by participating K - 3 children in Illinois. The award is sponsored by the Illinois School Library Media Association (ISLMA) and is designed to encourage Illinois students to read critically and to become familiar with children's books, authors and illustrators.

The award is named in honor of the Monarch Butterfly, Illinois state insect. The butterfly symbolizes growth, change and freedom qualities that also characterize the emergent reader.

Winners | Nominees


2005 Shannon, David David Gets in Trouble.
2006 Kasza, Keiko My Lucky Day.
2007 Buehner, Caralyn Superdog: The Heart of a Hero.
2008 Van Dusen, Chris If I Built a Car.
2009 O’Malley, Kevin Once Upon a Cool Motorcycle Dude.
2010 Watt, Mélanie Scaredy Squirrel.
2011 Thomas, Jan Rhyming Dust Bunnies.
2012 Barton, Chris Shark vs. Train.
2013 Litwin, Eric Pete the Cat: Rocking in My School Shoes.
2014 Katz, Jon Meet the Dogs of Bedlam Farm.
2015 Daywalt, Drew The Day the Crayons Quit.

2016 Nominees

Bean, Jonathan Building Our House.
Biedrzycki, David Breaking News: Bear Alert.
Brown, Monica Marisol McDonald and the Clash Bash.
Bruel, Nick Bad Kitty School Daze.
Bryant, Jen A Splash of Red: The Life and Art of Horace Pippin.
Cleary, Brian P. If It Rains Pancakes: Haiku and Lantern Poems.
Coy, John Hoop Genius: How a Desperate Teacher and a Rowdy Gym Class Invented Basketball.
Cunnane, Kelly Deep in the Sahara.
Dempsey, Kristy A Dance Like Starlight: One Ballerina’s Dream.
Ehlert, Lois The Scraps Book: Notes from a Colorful Life.
Hale, Christy Dreaming Up: A Celebration of Building.
Harris, Marie The Girl Who Heard Colors.
Mader, C. Roger Lost Cat.
Morris, Richard T. This Is a Moose.
Nelson, Kadir Nelson Mandela.
Pizzoli, Greg The Watermelon Seed.
Rabinowitz, Alan A Boy and a Jaguar.
Snicket, Lemony J The Dark.
Stewart, Melissa Feathers: Not Just for Flying.
Vande Velde, Vivian 8 Class Pets + 1 Squirrel ÷ 1 Dog = Chaos.