Newbery Award Books

This award, named for the eighteenth-century English publisher and bookseller John Newbery, is given each year to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

1922 Van Loon, Hendrik W. The Story of Mankind.
1923  Lofting, Hugh The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle.
1924 Hawes, Charles The Dark Frigate.
1925 Finger, Charles Tales from Silver Lands.
1926 Chrisman, Arthur Shen of the Sea.
1927 James, Will Smoky the Cowhorse.
1928 Mukerji, Dhan Gay-Neck, The Story of a Pigeon.
1929 Kelly, Eric P. The Trumpeter of Krakow.
1930 Field, Rachel Hitty, Her First Hundred Years.
1931 Coatsworth, Elizabeth The Cat Who Went to Heaven.
1932 Armer, Laura Waterless Mountain.
1933 Lewis, Elizabeth Young Fu of the Upper Yangtze.
1934 Meigs, Cornelia Invincible Louisa: The Story of the Author of Little Women.
1935 Shannon, Monica Dobry.
1936 Brink, Carol Caddie Woodlawn.
1937 Sawyer, Ruth Roller Skates.
1938 Seredy, Kate The White Stag.
1939 Enright, Elizabeth Thimble Summer.
1940 Daugherty, James Daniel Boone.
1941 Sperry, Armstrong Call it Courage.
1942 Edmonds, Walter The Matchlock Gun.
1943 Gray, Elizabeth Janet Adam of the Road.
1944 Forbes, Esther Johnny Tremain.
1945 Lawson, Robert Rabbit Hill.
1946 Lenski, Lois Strawberry Girl.
1947 Bailey, Carolyn Miss Hickory.
1948 DuBois, William Pene The Twenty-One Balloons.
1949 Henry, Marguerite King of the Wind.
1950 De Angeli, Marguerite The Door in the Wall.
1951 Yates, Elizabeth Amos Fortune, Free Man.
1952 Estes, Eleanor Ginger Pye.
1953 Clark, Ann Nolan Secret of the Andes.
1954 Krumgold, Joseph ...And Now Miguel.
1955 De Jong, Meindert The Wheel on the School.
1956 Latham, Jean Lee Carry on Mr. Bowditch.
1957 Sorensen, Virginia Miracles on Maple Hill.
1958 Keith, Harold Rifles for Watie.
1959 Speare, Elizabeth George The Witch of Blackbird Pond.
1960 Krumgold, Joseph Onion John.
1961 O’Dell, Scott Island of the Blue Dolphins.
1962 Speare, Elizabeth George The Bronze Bow.
1963 L’Engle, Madeline A Wrinkle in Time.
1964 Neville, Emily It’s Like This, Cat.
1965 Wojciechowska, Maia Shadow of a Bull.
1966 Trevino, Elizabeth Borton de I, Juan de Pareja.
1967 Hunt, Irene Up a Road Slowly.
1968 Konigsburg, E.L. From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler.
1969 Alexander, Lloyd The High King.
1970 Armstrong, William H. Sounder.
1971 Byars, Betsy Summer of the Swans.
1972 O’Brien, Robert C. Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH.
1973 George, Jean Craighead Julie of the Wolves.
1974 Fox, Paula The Slave Dancer: A Novel.
1975 Hamilton, Virginia M.C. Higgins, the Great.
1976 Cooper, Susan The Grey King.
1977 Taylor, Mildred D. Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry.
1978 Paterson, Katherine Bridge to Terabithia.
1979 Raskin, Ellen The Westing Game.
1980 Blos, Joan W. A Gathering of Days: A New England Girl's Journal, 1830-32: A Novel.
1981 Paterson, Katherine Jacob Have I Loved.
1982 Willard, Nancy A Visit to William Blake’s Inn: Poems for Innocent and Experienced Travelers.
1983 Voigt, Cynthia Dicey’s Song.
1984 Cleary, Beverly Dear Mr. Henshaw.
1985 McKinley, Robin The Hero and the Crown.
1986 MacLachlan, Patricia Sarah, Plain and Tall.
1987 Fleischman, Sid The Whipping Boy.
1988 Freedman, Russell Lincoln: A Photobiography.
1989 Fleischman, Paul Joyful Noise: Poems for Two Voices.
1990 Lowry, Lois Number the Stars.
1991 Spinelli, Jerry Maniac Magee.
1992 Naylor, Phyllis Shiloh.
1993 Rylant, Cynthia Missing May.
1994 Lowry, Lois The Giver.
1995 Creech, Sharon Walk Two Moons.
1996 Cushman, Karen The Midwife's Apprentice.
1997 Konigsburg, E. L. The View From Saturday.
1998 Hesse, Karen Out of the Dust.
1999 Sachar, Louis Holes.
2000 Curtis, Christopher Bud Not Buddy.
2001 Peck, Richard A Year Down Yonder.
2002 Park, Linda Sue A Single Shard.
2003 Avi Crispin: The Cross of Lead.
2004 DiCamillo, Kate The Tale of Despereaux :  Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread.
2005 Kadohata, Cynthia Kira-Kira.
2006 Perkins, Lynne Rae Criss Cross.
2007 Patron, Susan The Higher Power of Lucky.
2008 Schlitz, Laura Amy Good Masters!  Sweet Ladies!  Voices from a Medieval Village.
2009 Gaiman, Neil The Graveyard Book.
2010 Stead, Rebecca When You Reach Me.
2011 Vanderpool, Clare Moon Over Manifest.
2012 Gantos, Jack Dead End in Norvelt
2013 Applegate, Katherine The One and Only Ivan.
2014 DiCamillo, Kate Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures.
2015 Alexander, Kwame The Crossover.
2016 Matt de la Peña Last Stop on Market Street.
2017 Barnhill, Kelly The Girl Who Drank the Moon.