Information & Reader Services

  • Library-Camp-2017
  • score slide
  • Basics-ipad-iphone_8-2-2017_8-23-2017
  • Basics-email_8-3-2017_8-24-2017
  • Photoshop-Fundamentals_8-2017
  • Lego-Mindstorms_8-2017
  • Shopping-Popular-Sites_8-8-2017_8-22-2017
  • Featured-Lynda-com_8-9-2017
  • Spanish-Literary-Club

Primary Election 2016

On March 15, 2016, Highland Park residents will vote on the North Shore School District 112 referendum and select candidates for the November 2016 General Election for federal, state, and county offices.

North Shore School District 112 Referendum

North Shore School District 112 is asking voters for approval to issue $198,000,000 in school building bonds. The ballot text:

Proposition to Issue $198,000,000 School Building Bonds

"Shall the Board of Education of North Shore School District Number 112, Lake County, Illinois, improve the safety and efficiency of physical plants, build and equip new buildings on existing sites of said School District and improve said sites, build and equip additions to, alter, repair, equip and renovate existing buildings for instructional purposes and improve the sites thereof, for the purpose of consolidating the schools of said School District, including, without limitation, installing fire safety systems, installing security systems, installing climate control systems and increasing accessibility to comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act, and issue bonds of said School District to the amount $198,000,000 for the purpose of paying the costs thereof?"

Federal Offices

Voters will select the candidates for the Democratic and Republican parties for the offices                        [Note: Candidates are listed in ballot order and includes candidates who have suspended his/her campaigns]:

President (and the delegates to the national conventions)

Democratic                                         Republican

Hillary Clinton                                       Jeb Bush

Willie L. Wilson                                    Chris Christie

Martin J. O'Malley                                 Donald J. Trump

Roque "Rocky" De La Fuente                Ted Cruz

Larry (Lawrence) Cohen                         Marco Rubio

Bernie Sanders                                     Rand Paul

                                                           Carly Fiorina

                                                           Mike Huckabee

                                                           Rick Santorum

                                                           John K. Kasich

                                                           Ben Carson

United States Senator

Democratic                                         Republican

Andrea Zopp                                         James T. Marter

Tammy Duckworth                                 Mark Steven Kirk

Napoleon Harris

10th Congressional District Representative

Democratic                                         Republican

Brad Schneider                                     Robert Dold

Nancy Rotering

State Offices

Voters will select the candidates for the offices:

Illinois Comptroller

Democratic                                          Republican

Susana Mendoza                                   Leslie Geissler Munger

State Senator 29th Legislative District

Democratic                                         Republican

Julie A. Morrison                                   Benjamin Salzberg

Illinois General Assembly 58th Representative District

Democratic                                         Republican

Scott Drury                                           no candidate

Lake County Offices

Voters will select candidates for the offices:

Lake County Circuit Clerk

Democratic                                        Republican

Erin Cartwright Weinstein                     Keith Brin

Lake County Coroner

Democratic                                        Republican

Michael P. Donnenwirth                        Howard Cooper

Lake County Recorder

Democratic                                       Republican

Mary Ellen Vanderventer                      no candidate

Lake County State's Attorney

Democratic                                      Republican

Matt Stanton                                      Michael G. Nerheim

Michael J. Perillo Jr.

Lake County Board Member - District 11

Democratic                                     Republican

Paul H. Frank                                   Laura Lambrecht

Judge of the 19th Judicial Circuit

Democratic                                    Republican

Mitchell L. Hoffman                           no candidate

Lake County Precinct Committeeman

Democratic                                     Republican

no candidate                                    Martin Zeidman

Voting Information

What's on your ballot? Where is your polling place? Are you registered to vote? Lake County Voter Power web site can answer these questions. Other voting information is available on the Lake County Voter Services page.

Early Voting begins on Monday, February 29th and ends on Monday, March 14th. The early voting polling place for Highland Park residents is Highland Park Police Station Community Room, 1677 Old Deerfield Road. The hours are Monday through Friday 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and Saturday 9:00 a.m to 2:00 p.m. For those who do not live in Highland Park, see your early voting sites here.



Reference blog categories: 

Check Out Zinio Today

Did you know we now offer digital magazines through Zinio, which provides digital access to some of the nation’s most popular magazines.This service can be used by any library cardholder and accessed from any computer or on a tablet through the Zinio app. Click here for more information.

Reference blog categories: