Archives and Local History

Highland Park Obituary Index

Highland Park Obituary Index

Historical Statistics of the United States

Quantitative facts of American history including statistics from over 1000 sources including over 37,000 data series.

http://www.highlandparkhistory.org/

Archives and Local History Collections Catalog

Illinois Digital Archives

Illinios Digital Archives

Articles

Electronic Journals, Magazines, Newspapers

Use this link to search for magazines and journals across multiple subscription databases.

General OneFile

Magazines, reference books, and newspapers for information, book reviews, and research.

InfoTrac Power Search

Search multiple sources simultaneously. The General Reference Center Gold, General Business File, Health Reference Center Academic, Opposing Viewpoints Reference Center, and the Virtual Reference Library are all included in this multiple search tool. Search them all together, or one at a time, and retrieve journal and magazine articles, reference book articles, and multimedia material.

National Geographic Virtual Library 1888 - Present

Explore the articles and photographs that made National Geographic famous!  Search by topic, photograph, or issue. 

NexisUni (formerly LexisNexis)

Over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources including the New York Times, law reviews, legal cases and hundreds more. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. Legal information is available in-library only. LexisNexis is now NexisUni!

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Primary source information about important social issues. Explore issues from all perspectives with newspaper and magazine articles, essays, biographies, court case overviews, podcasts, and more.

Science Resource Center

An in-depth, curriculum-oriented database that provides a one-stop resource for all science-related research needs. Includes full-text articles, reference books, and more.

The Statesman's Yearbook 2007-

The full text of the current edition of The Statesman's Yearbook, with country profiles, essays, event chronologies, and information about international organizations and people.1 user only. Please log out when done. In-Library use only.

Virtual Reference Library

A suite of “reference” ebooks arranged by subject: Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, General Reference, History, Information & Publishing, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation & World, Religion, Science, Social Science, and Technology.

Arts & Literature

Kanopy

Watch over 30000 Documentaries, Classic and Indie Films. On Desktop, Mobile and Roku for Students, Professors & Library Patrons.

Literature Resource Center

Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline... covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.

NoveList Plus

Use this readers' advisory tool to find a good book by topic, authors similar to your favorites, and book discussion guides. Also includes Novelist K-8.

OAIster

A catalog of digital resources from over 1000 organizations. Includes books, born-digital texts, audio files, images, movies, and datasets.

Business, Finance & Law

Gale Business Collection

Business Collection provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.

Gale Business Insights: Global

Company and Industry information, investment reports, financial information, Index and full-text business periodicals.

Morningstar.com

Find a stock or fund, research current or prospective holdings, x-ray your portfolio.

Record Information Services - Illinois Public Records

Search real estate transactions, foreclosures & auctions, new businesses and bankruptcies in Illinois.

Record Information Services - Illinois Public Records (REMOTE ACCESS)

Search real estate transactions, foreclosures & auctions, new businesses and bankruptcies in Illinois.

Reference USA

Look up addresses, phone, numbers, and information about U.S. companies. Also good for creating mailing lists.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Including Standard & Poor's Stock Reports, Industry Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Daily News, CreditWeek, and more.

Value Line

Provides investment research on stocks, mutual funds, options, and convertibles, and offers a family of no-load mutual funds.

    Consumer & Auto

    Chicago Consumer's Checkbook

    Reviews and ratings of local service providers and products including automobiles, health care, home care, pets, stores, and much more.In-Library use only.

    Chicago Consumer's Checkbook (REMOTE ACCESS)

    Reviews and ratings of local service providers and products including automobiles, health care, home care, pets, stores, and much more.

    Consumer Reports Online

    The last 4 years of reports from Consumer Reports including autos. Includes reports not found in the printed magazine.

    elearning

    Brainfuse HelpNow

    Live tutoring, virtual study rooms, diagnostic test center and more. Tutors are available every day from 2:00 PM to 11:00 PM CST.

    Brainfuse JobNow

    Live job coaching, resume help, and interview practice. JobNow Coaches are available every day from 2:00 PM to 11:00 PM CST.

    Gale Courses

    Gale Courses deliver hundreds of engaging, instructor-led online courses focused on professional development, technology skills, and personal enrichment to transform lives and foster positive changes in your community.

    Lynda.com

    Video tutorials on software, web design, business/management skills, financial literacy, job/career skills, social networking, etc. Includes Microsoft Office, Windows, and Mac OS. You will be asked to create a LyndaLibrary account, which will allow you to track your progress through your tutorials.

    Mango Languages Online Language Learning

    Mango uses real-life situations and actual conversations to more effectively teach a new language.

    Niche Academy

    Short video tutorials for learning how to use eBooks, audio books, electronic magazines, databases, and more.

    Genealogy & Biography

    Ancestry Library Edition

    Genealogy research.  Census records, social security death index, military records, slave narratives.... In-Library use only.

    HeritageQuest

    Search U.S. federal census, banking and military records, genealogies, local histories, primary source materials, and genealogical and local history serials.

    Popular Culture Universe

    An authoritative, digital library of information on American and world popular culture from the 1900s to the present.  Browse by decade or search by item or event.

    Health & Wellness

    Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module

    New interface to Health Reference Center.  Magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories and information on topics of health and wellness.   online tour 

    Kids

    Access Video On Demand: Just for Kids

    The Just for Kids Streaming Collection for public libraries gives children—and their parents—a thoroughly kid-safe, advertisement-free media platform they can freely explore and enjoy. Includes PBS shows like Wild Kratts, Arthur, Dinosaur Train and more in addition to educational and language learning content.

    African-American History

    Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture.

    American Indian History

    American Indian History offers fast access to more than 15,000 years of culture and history, covering more than 600 Native American groups, through tablet/mobile-friendly videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, and timelines.

    Ancient and Medieval History

    Presents the full scope of world history from prehistory through the 1500s, with special topic centers on key civilizations and regions.

    CultureGrams

    Includes World Edition (182 country reports), Kids Edition (66 country reports), and States Edition (50 states and District of Columbia)--plus photos, recipes, biographies, data tables, maps, and more.

    Miss Humblebee's Academy

    A fun, interactive online kindergarten-readiness learning solution with hundreds of lessons in Math, Science and Social Studies, Language and Literacy, Art, and Music! Miss Humblebee’s Academy assesses cognitive skills at regular intervals for measurable improvement toward kindergarten readiness. 

    Modern World History

    Modern World History offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.

    National Geographic Kids

    Full text of National Geographic's acclaimed books and magazines for kids. Videos and picture libraries help kids explore the world in a safe and reliable online environment and are available for personal educational use. 

    NoveList K-8 Plus

    Discover great books for children from kindergarten through grade 8. Browse lists of award-winning titles or search for books by grade level or Lexile score.

    Scholastic Go!

    Comprehensive, vetted, age-appropriate online resources.

    ScienceFlix

    Emphasizing the latest STEM thinking and the Next Generation Science Standards, ScienceFlix® is transforming the way students access science topics, acquire scientific knowledge, and build an abiding interest in science, technology, and engineering.

    TumbleBook Library for Kids

    An online collection of books, talking books, puzzles, and games for kids. 

    World Book Online Reference Center

    31,000 encyclopedia articles, 6,000 weblinks, 25,000 periodical articles, 800 videos, animations, and sounds, 400 interactive maps, 100 3-D bubble views, and much more.

    World Geography & Culture Online

    Facilitates the study of countries, U.S. states, places, peoples, and geography concepts and skills through a global approach.

    Music

    American Song

    The history of American music in an online music listening service. The collection contains the African American Song collection.

    Classical Music Library

    Classical music recordings for listening and learning. You can browse by Composer, Artist, Conductor, Ensemble, Instrument, Genre, Period, or Label.

    Contemporary World Music

    Music from all regions from every continent such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and more.

    hoopla

    A downloadable and streaming music service that provides access to music as well as movies, television shows, and audiobooks. A Highland Park library card is required.

    Music Online

    Music Online is an interface to the following databases American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound.  

    Smithsonian Global Sound

    This collection features American Folk, Blues, Bluegrass, Old Time Country, American Indian, World, Jazz, Classical & Broadway, Spoken Word & Sounds, & Children's music.

    Newspapers and Magazines

    Chicago Tribune Article Database

    Full-text articles from 1985 to the present

    Chicago Tribune Digital Microfilm

    Browse the full content of the Chicago Tribune, from 2008 onward.  Not searchable.

    Chicago Tribune Historical Newspaper

    Full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1849 - 1993.

    Global Newsstream

    Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This database provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. 

    New York Times Articles via NexisUni (LexisNexis)

    Search the New York Times from the NexisUni (formerally LexisNexis) interface  The database contains articles from 06/01/1980 to present .

    New York Times Historical Newspaper

    The New York Times in its entirety from 1851 -2013. Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Advertisements and photos included.

    RBDigital

    Read digital editions of your favorite magazines with RBDigital. To check out magazines, log in with your library card number and then create a user name and password. To download checked out issues to mobile devices, get the RBDigital app.

    Wall Street Journal

    Full text of national and international financial and hard news. Coverage: 1982-current. Note: Stock quotes and charts are not included.

    Washington Post, The

    Full text of national and international news. Full Coverage: 2016-current; Patrical Coverage: 2011-2015.