Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Read with Your Library Print & Audio Books Downloadable & Streaming Content Interlibrary Loans (ILL) Periodicals Perfect Picks Annual Staff Picks Book Club Resources Loans & Fines

Bluestem Book Award Winners

The Bluestem Book Award is designed for students in grades 3 - 5 who are ready for longer titles than thosse found on the Monarch list, but not quite ready for the sophistication of some of the Rebecca Caudill titles. Named in honor of Big Bluestem, which is the state prairie grass, the award may include both timeless classics and current titles, as well as books that have appeared on Monarch and Rebecca Caudill lists.

Current Nominees

Past Winners

2020 Hale, Shannon Real Friends.
2019 O'Connor, Barbara Wish.
2018 Jamieson, Victoria Roller Girl.
2017 Bell, Cece El Deafo.
2016 Griffiths, Andy The 13-Story Treehouse.
2015 Applegate, Katherine The One and Only Ivan.
2014 Palacio, R.J. Wonder.
2013 Draper, Sharon Out of My Mind.
2012 Sturm, James Adventures in Cartooning.
2011 Newman, Leslea Hachiko Waits.

Official Bluestem Award Site